Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I always make a large batch of this, because it is even better the second or third day. It's a terrific summer dish, not only because the vegetables are in season, but because it's as delicious cold out of the fridge as it is warm. The only change I make is leaving out the green beans and adding spinach just before it's finished cooking (the heat of the soup is enough to cook the spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is a great easy soup to make. I use half an onion instead of the leek and add a can of red kidney beans(great if you are a bean lover). I also used dried thyme (maybe about 1 teaspoon) and it tastes fine. I've made this several times and my 18 month old loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I made this soup exactly according to instructions, and it turned out okay -not great, but okay. For a much more flavourful minestrone soup, I prefer "Minestrone Soup I" by A.Hatton on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Blonay, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This recipe is very good. I added some crushed garlic, a couple pinches of oregano, and a full two quarts of stock, instead of 1.5 quarts because I added extra macaroni. Very tasty, especially as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Absolutely delicious!! will make it over and over and over:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was great! I added alphabet pasta instead of macaroni, just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Wow! I don't think you can go wrong with this one, regardless of what you do to it. I added about three times the amount of leeks called for, just to use up the bunch, added three cloves of garlic, and basically however much of each vegetable I had on hand, and it was fantastic. I love the clear broth with chopped tomatoes rather than the tomato-base in some other recipes. Really filling, and a great meal with some fresh bread a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I really enjoyed this soup, although it seemed to make more like 5 or 6 servings instead of 4 - maybe I put in too many vegetables. I added 1 medium onion and 3 cloves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I added canned corn and red kidney beans and some garlic cloves to this recipe and it was a huge hit with my family. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judyanne Tarsitano Peltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Once you taste this soup all others will pale in comparison. (i.e resturant, can, etc) The first time I made it we were stationed overseas so I had to subsitute some fresh veggies for canned. AS LONG AS you use a fresh leek you will get good results. If you are able to make it exactly as intended it will be outstanding!! Enjoy :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXANCA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States