Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was pretty bland as written but turned out excellent when I added more salt and pepper, some italian seasoning, basil and a dash of red pepper flakes. Took it to work for a potluck and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Note: The 5 stars includes many changes. I added more veggies — more carrots, more celery, added potatoes, used canned and fresh tomatoes, a portebello mushroom and added a can of tomato paste. I used more pasta and about doubled the amount of spice, including fresh oregano and basil, not to mention four cloves of garlic. Also, with all this, I doubled the amount of broth. And let me say, yum. The basic recipe functions as an awesome base, from which you can do whatever you please. In short, it's exactly the kind of recipe I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great base recipe to add your own twist. Next time I'll add potatoes to it and more noodles. I added garlic and spinach like a few reviews suggested, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe was so good and easy. The only changes we made was we added garlic to the olive oil in the begining before adding the veggies. We added frozen corn when we added the tomatoes. We also only used half of the vegetable stock but made up for it by adding chicken stock. This is a very healthy recipe and I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was excellent!! The only thing I did differently was add beef broth instead of vegetable to give it a deeper flavor. I added all my garden fresh vegetables and herbs. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is a delicious soup! I made very little changes. I added fresh peas and used a can of chopped tomatoes with garlic and olive oil. I use a can of mixed beans ( that's all I had at home ). Everybody loved it! Made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Bellisimo!!! I mean really, this is very tasty, Vegetarian, subtle and hearty, just about as perfect, healthy and delicious as you can get, especially when sprinkled with real, finely grated, aged, parmesean cheese. The only 4 changes in the recipe I would recommend are; 1) Go easy on the salt for your sodium-concerned family and friends. The parmesean will more than make up for that. 2) Be sure to use fresh tomatoes on the vine and blanch and chop them for the flavor and aliveness of the food. 3) Add a few cloves of fresh, chopped garlic - yummy. 4) Consider leaving out the pasta, which my local, gourmet, Northern Italian restaurant chef says is a no-no in Northern Italy. He also says, meat or chicken is never used in classic, Tuscan minestrone, so this recipe is a perfect Vegan choice when the parmesean is omitted! Great recipe - Buongiorno! P.S. All of my vegetarian friends at the party I just served this recipe at last night raved! You should have seen them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Gurutrang Singh Khalsa, DC
Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Skipped the zucchini (don't like it); used canned tomatoes (too lazy), fresh green beans and added an onion...YUMMY, even straight from the pot. Parmesan on top = perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good recipe...needs doctoring. Exchanged garbonzo beans for cannelli. Also excluded the celery and green beans. Instead added cabbage and flat parsely. I used 16. Oz of macaroni. This was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States