Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Best one I have found so far! Very light, just how real minestrone supposed to be. To other raters who like more tomatoes or more of a thicker soup, please go ahead and modify it. But please dont say this is not good. This recipe is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Cuadra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This turned out absolutely delicious, and I am a hard one to please relative to soups. I made some minor changes to the version I created. Revisions: • 2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced added to the end of the saute (It's Italian, right?!? I mean you gotta have some garlic!!) • 2 cups canned tomato sauce & 1 cup water with only 1 qt vegetable stock. • 1-1/2 tsp sugar (to compensate for the bitterness of the fresh tomatoes not being in season). • Substituted garbanzo beans for cannellini. • Used 1 tsp dried thyme in place of fresh. YUMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I add garlic. I also add fresh spinach about the same time I add the beans. Use Extra carrots and zucchini and use a large can of diced tomatoes undrained. Let it sit over night and wait untill your going to serve it to do the step with the pasta and beans (and spinach)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was very good, but only had a tiny bit of pasta. I will increase it next time. But overall the flavor was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love this recipe. And it's versatile so that you can pretty much use whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Good! I took the advice of others and added diced potatos, garlic, oregano, & bay leaf -- glad I did. I also used chicken broth because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was pretty bland as written but turned out excellent when I added more salt and pepper, some italian seasoning, basil and a dash of red pepper flakes. Took it to work for a potluck and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Note: The 5 stars includes many changes. I added more veggies — more carrots, more celery, added potatoes, used canned and fresh tomatoes, a portebello mushroom and added a can of tomato paste. I used more pasta and about doubled the amount of spice, including fresh oregano and basil, not to mention four cloves of garlic. Also, with all this, I doubled the amount of broth. And let me say, yum. The basic recipe functions as an awesome base, from which you can do whatever you please. In short, it's exactly the kind of recipe I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great base recipe to add your own twist. Next time I'll add potatoes to it and more noodles. I added garlic and spinach like a few reviews suggested, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States