Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I've never even had minestrone soup, so this was my first attempt at making it. And while I have nothing to compare it to, I really enjoyed this. It was easy to make and was very comforting on a cool evening. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using a can of great northern beans instead of cannellini. However, I don't think that would alter the end outcome too much anyway. Served mine with a crusty roll and a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars with the tweaks I made. I used half an onion instead of the leek, tow small-ish fresh tomatoes and 1 8oz. can of tomotoe sauce, less than 1 tablespoon of fresh thyme, white navy beans, small shell pasta and I didn't need any additional salt or pepper. I used Penzeys Spices vegetable soup base to make my stock and it was all the seasoning I needed. I couldn't believe how good this soup came out. The flavors are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is so fast, easy, satisfying, comforting, refreshing! I made it a day early then nuked individual bowls for four mins. topped with 1/4 cup of freshly grated parmesan then nuked it again for one minute. You could also add a piece of toasted bread under the cheese to make a giant crouton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I added one clove of garlic and potatos and doubled the macaroni and it was a very hearty soup! A bit of salt made this soup a lot better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is a great recipe. It's the first time I made a Minestrone Soup. I had already bought everything, got home and decided to double the batch, and since I didn't feel like running out to the store again I improvised. I only bought enough broth, and leeks for one recipe, so I used what I had. I used green onion and I had beef boulion. I "eye balled" all of the ingredients and pretty much added more veggies than the recipe called for. Not by much but use your best judgement. Oh and I only used 1 can of beans. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcat12f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great hearty soup (both the the night of and the next day!). I've frozen a bunch so hopefully that works out well for me. I didn't "change" the recipe at all (aside from adding a clove of minced garlic), but I did use canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh (primarily because I'm about 12 months pregnant and easy is my M.O. these days!). For those having troubles finding cannellini beans in the store - look for "white kidney beans"...that's what I found most of the major brands carrying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a good start to a great soup. I refer to this recipe for the right balance of vege to liquid quantity. I start by browning pancetta cubes in some oil. Then I add the mix of vergetables + some fresh garlic. Instead of thyme I add in about a tablespoon of pesto, a few drops of green pepper Tabasco (Milder Jalapeno) and a piece of Parmigiano rind. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have never made minestrone soup before in my life, but this looked so good, I decided to give it a try. I must say that I did make some changes after reading the reviews, so I could adjust it to my personal likes. Not to take away from this recipe, it just had a few things in it that I don't care for. It was easy to make the adjustments with the help of the reviews and it came out amazing. My husband and son-in-law both loved it as well. Thank you Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is so easy and delicious! I did add 1 can of garbanzo beans, oregano, basil and then parmesan cheese on top. It was definitely better the next day! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was a very easy soup to make. I am disappointed by the broth- it was much too bland for my family's taste. Next time I think I will add a clove of garlic and not so much thyme. By the time my husband (who never adds salt) put enough salt in to taste, he asked me to just add bouillon cubes to made it edible for the next day's lunch. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States