Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So simple and so good, there could be more flavor but you can always add spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was an excellent recipe! My family absolutely loved it!! Wish I would have doubled it. I did tweak it just a little...doubled veggies (zucchini/carrots) left out celery. Fresh tomatoes are out of season so i used 2 cans of plum tomatoes and added some of the juice from one can. I minced 2 garlic cloves and put that in. Left out thyme and used 2 bay leaves and a shake of Italian seasoning. Used orzo pasta instead of macaroni. You can also sub small onion for leek. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Good base recipe. Two tips: 1. add 1clove of garlic with the sauteed veg. 2. intermediate step, after veg are mostly sauteed, add the tomatoes and thyme and cook for 2min. Then add a couple cups of tomato juice and reduce it down by half, THEN add the veg stock. Salting the tomato while reducing helps richen it as well. Idk why, it just works. I always add chopped kale (or spinach if you prefer) to minestrone, cause its good for you :) Also my opinion thyme and bay leaf ARE the appropriate herbs. AVOID THE TEMPTATION TO ADD BASIL. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made a lot of changes with spices and veggies based on other user reviews, but this recipe has always turned out great. I do use the canned tomatoes with tomato puree instead of fresh, I reduced the amount of thyme, and added an Italian blend of spices (oregano, garlic, basil, etc). This recipe does seem to get better flavor with time - it's even better as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I added sliced fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaconjayz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Make ahead of time. Tastes much better day two or even day three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
LOVED THIS! We left out the beans and added a little more pasta. My husband couldn't stop eating it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
spending time in Italy, this recipe brought me right back to dining on a piazza. I always add a bit more veggies than called for, and a can (or fresh cooked) garbanzo beans, too. Used organic chicken stock for more flavor, a can of tomato paste, a can of diced Italian tomatoes, plus more fresh. No one in Italy uses elbow, so instead I used mini farfalle, or orzo is nice, too. Very flavorful- recommend topping with a strong Italian cheese like pecorino romano. very delicious, and very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great recipe! I made the soup with homemade chicken stock, gluten free elbow noodles, and red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
awesome! I add Italian parsley, cilantro and potato. We like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States