Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Good. Tastes very Italian, which is different than meatloaf I'm used to. I added a lot more ketchup for the sauce, which I think was necessary. There was WAY too much liquid in it when it was done. Poured MOST, but not all of it out to keep some for moisture sake. Don't know if that was even necessary to keep any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Culver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as written after watching the video. It was perfect: moist, delicious and totally comfort food! Don't forget to make Chef John's mushroom gravy, its savory flavor is fabulous with this meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judylo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I felt the italian seasoning over powered the taste. Did not care for it. (Took close to 2 hrs to cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the best meatloaf I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I increased the italian herbs (I assumed that to mean italian seasoning--I used my own homemade italian seasoning) to two teaspoons and I used homemade croutons (day old bread, brushed with EVOO and garlic powder, cut into 1 inch pieces and baked until crispy, then cooled) that I ground down in the food processor. Those were the only changes I made. Ginormous meat loaf. It fit in my Perfect Meat Loaf pan, but just barely, with a quarter inch at the top. Mine did take almost two hours to bake, taken out the last half hour to pour over the glaze. This was one of the better meat loaves I've ever made. Very flavorful, quite filling. I served homemade biscuits and Cheesy Vegetable Medley with this. Out of that big meatloaf, just under half remains--my oldest boy ate two pieces and my husband ate three! We all really liked it. The rest will be used for sandwiches in lunches tomorrow. I'll make this meat loaf again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My first meatloaf (I am French, it's not a dish we do) and its really, really good. The ketchup and sugar topping really adds a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This needs to bake at 350 for total of 1 hour. Best meatloaf I've ever had. Have made it 6 times now. "Moist and magnificent," I would agree. The vegetables make it flavorful. I add 1/4 cup catchup and 1/4 cup honey or brown sugar to the loaf and double the glaze because we like it on the sweet side. We use ground turkey, and it's better than beef. But the original recipe is awesome, too, with longer cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe was great. Added few more mushrooms and a little extra spice, but otherwise followed the directions (and video) exactly. I used about 3 lbs of mixed lean ground beef and turkey, made two loaves and froze one for another night. I cooked one 1.5lb loaf for about 50 minutes at 375. The glaze was so-so, I might have used a little too much ketchup though. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
It was very good. Had great flavor. I only put ketscup on for the glaze. Very good. I cooked at 350 as other people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
AMAZING! I am eating it right now. Definately had to cook it a lot longer than prescribed in the recipie but it is hands down the best meatloaf I have ever had. I absolutely loved seeing how many fresh veggies went into it! I followed the recipie exactly except for the dijon mustard in the sauce. I did not have dijon mustard, but I did have powder mustard. So I put an extra 2 tablespoons of ketshcup (in place of the dijon mustard) into the sauce mix and then sprinkled a little bit of the powdered mustard into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States