Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very tasty, A little bit dry, so I highly recommend a little milk. I made this into two meatloaves, cooked @ 350 for 1 hour. Was delicious. I used a heaping tablespoon of preminced garlic. No mushrooms because I didn't have any, nor the carrots and celery. I have done it with them before and I do highly recommend it. I used one of the "stir fry" frozen Onion & Pepper mix. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Amazing! I am a meatloaf lover and I have been reluctant to deviate from the recipe on the back of the bread crumb box, however this is the new standard. I love the fact it has lots of veggies, which makes my wife very happy. This is truly classic meatloaf. I made Chef John's German potato pancakes, which was a first because I always make mashed potatoes with the meatloaf. Another "crowd pleaser" to say the least. This website has done more for my eating habits than any other website or magazine. I am pleased with the quality of the recipes, especially Chef John's offerings. As for cooking times, I did have to increase the oven temperature to 350 degrees because it wasn't cooking fast enough. I also cut the recipe in half but I will make two meatloaves with the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and the meatloaf was very mushy when it came out. I thought it was the pureed veggies that did it. I used fresh veggies too. We did make the best of it and the entire thing did get eaten. I don't think I will make this again, unless I hear of a similar recipe that maybe solves this issue that a lot of people seemed to have. I do like the idea of the veggies being in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
O. M. G....the best meatloaf I've ever made! Moist and a perfect balance of flavors. If I stopped the review here, it would be correct, so this other stuff is just me... I only used 2 lbs. of good quality ground beef - 80/20 blend. Using only 2 lbs. of meat *may* have cut down on the cohesion factor, but it wasn't too bad. I doubled the recipe for the glaze except for the brown sugar, which I halved. I used half yellow mustard and half spicy brown (because I didn't have Dijon). I used Crystal's hot sauce, but only a little. It turned out great. It really is very important to get the vegetables "finely chopped, almost to a puree" because this is the key to a lot of the flavor and the moisture. If your food processor is up to the job, that's great, but I had some pieces that didn't get chopped as well and and stuck them in there anyway. That was a mistake. (Hate food processors! I guess they're a necessary evil for some things...) I used Italian flavored bread crumbs and cooked this for 1 hr, 15 minutes. This recipe is a keeper! Can't wait for the sandwiches I'll make later this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The whole family loved this one! The pureed vegetables seemed to add a "fluffiness" to the result, while the loaf still held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made a different recipe for a meatloaf last Sunday, but made this glaze and it was truly wonderful. Made my meatloaf in a tin and the glaze gave the juice from the loaf a really lovely taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Edmunds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I wish I would have read the reviews. The cooking time was off so I put it back in the oven at 350 for another 30 minutes. Next time I would omit the bell pepper which I usually love. I would also eliminate the cayenne pepper that my husband was not fond of. I think the dijon mustard was slightly over powering so I will only use 1 T next time. We needed it to be gluten free so we omitted the bread crumbs and ground up some Trader Joe's Gluten Free oatmeal. It wasn't a hit with my kids this time but I'll try it again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harbor Beach, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The addition of the vegetables made an incredible difference to a classic comfort dinner. I have always made my meatloaf using the "onion soup mix" recipe. My husband, however, had always loved his mom's meatloaf with lots of chunky veggies. I found this recipe, and it made the best meatloaf using both styles. I prepared the vegetables as Chef John suggests, then added them to the meatloaf recipe on the onion soup packet and cooked the loaf for the time recommended on the packet. (No other ingredients or glaze.) The results were wonderful; it was easily the best meatloaf ever. The meatloaf was very moist and juicy, and had the most interesting flavor and texture. I won't use any other method from now on; there is no comparison. Hats off to Chef John for another wonderful technique!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I have made this meatloaf before and each time it has turned out well. The video gives some extra information that ois helpful, especially in regards to the cooking times and letting it cool before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We loved this one but made one change and that was to use 3 lbs of extra lean chicken instead of the chuck....I know...its a big change...BUT it was excellent and cut way down on fat and calories. I kept all the other ingredients the same and even used the glaze on half of the meatloaf since the kiddos dont care for it. Great flavors here with all of the veggies and actually nice and moist again due to all of the veggies. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States