Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made this evening. Hubby loved it; I thought it a bit bland. Maybe some more seasoning? The texture was great! I increased cooking time and made two smaller loafs. Definitely needs the glaze to have some flavor. Good base recipe but will add some things in the future to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I pureed the heck out of the veggies so nobody would know they were there. Skipped the cayenne and controlled the heat with the hot sauce in the topping. Next time I will add some spinach or whatever veggies I have a little left of. Once they were pureed (to liquid state so nobody could identify anything "healthy") nobody knew they were there. The fam loved the topping. I prefer parmesan cheese on top so made two with parm and the rest with Chef John's sauce. Chef John never fails. And because I added so many veggies to this we splurged and had Chef John's Ultimate Mashed Potatoes - 3 1 lb potatoes to 1lb of butter!!! (Only I couldn't go that far, I did a 1/2 lb plus another half stick and it was perfectly divine... didn't splurge on the European butter THIS TIME). This is the first time I have ever made a meatloaf that my family could eat. I can cook some pretty fancy stuff but basic meatloaf is beyond me. I think one of the tricks was not over mixing the meat. Next time around I am going to add even more veggies (spinach maybe). Once pureed it adds moisture to the meatloaf and great flavor. My 7 y/o budding chef wanted to try it as meatloaf muffins. So I upped the temp to 350 and started checking them at 45 minutes. I also drained the grease and turned the muffin pans about midway thru (be sure to put a pan under the muffin pan to catch any grease that may spill over). Only other change was whole wheat Ritz cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This meatloaf was excellent! Just the right texture, and loaded with veggies. I did change the sauce as others suggested. After it cooked for about 15 min. and it starts browning, pour off most of the fat, then pour the sauce over top, and cook for the remainder of time, which takes longer as other reviewers stated. For the sauce I used one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and mixed some catsup in to taste. This will make more than needed, so cover the top of the meatloaf and use the rest as needed for leftovers. Finish cooking till browned on top and no longer pink in the middle.. I put mine in a regular size loaf pan and another small loaf pan. I also used 15/85 Ground chuck, and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Best meatloaf ever! Chef John - you make making dinner something to really look forward to. If I tell my husband we are having a Chef John recipe tonight, he no longer has to ask " what are we having?" He just knows it will be fabulous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very good and easy to make. My husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Although this recipe yields a moist meatloaf, my family did not care for the flavor. The onions and bell peppers along with the seasoning upset my stomach. I also think the cooking time was off. Thank you for the great video, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This recipe is amazing! I agree that the cooking time suggested was not enough however in adding 20 minutes it Was perfect. A huge hit in our home. I have been using my own meat loaf recipe for years BUT it's Chef John's classic for me in the future. Definitely a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Omg this was soooooo delicious. I followed the recipe except I used lean ground chicken ,extra lean ground beef and pound each and half a pound of bison. I am looking forward to my left overs. Thank you ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We made this recipe exactly like the recipe called for but we replaced the beef with ground venison...WOW, it was awesome. Even folks that "don't eat mealoaf" tried it and loved it. The flavors were great...The glaze can be spicy but very good so you need to pay attention to that but it was awesome! We also used a temp probe to ensure the meat was done...I think that is better than timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
A hit with the whole family! This was moist and full of flavor. My loaf was 2 pounds but otherwise followed the recipe, omitting the hot sauce. it took about 1 1/4 hours at 325. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States