Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Absolutely love, love, love this. Doubled up on the sauce, but that's just personal preference. Served up with cheese and spring onion mash, mushroom gravy, and fine green beans. Can't wait to make it again. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjftigra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As with a majority of the others on here it is the cooking time that knocks the rating down! Otherwise thus was a great dish to trick my kids into eating more veggies than normal. I also added some zucchini as a bonus. Nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Bennington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Followed this recipe with everything except the mushrooms & bell pepper, husband won't eat either). Frankly, the Italian herbs was a bit too much & the glaze, just using 3 drops of hotsauce, was awful. Won't be making this again, as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made it and every body at home enjoyed it so much!!! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Just tried this recipe for the first time today! It is definitely one of the best ever..I seperated it into two loaves.It cooked more quickly that way.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Strubel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
really good taste and would be great even without the sugary glaze I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Awesome... family loved it. Tender, juicy, very flavorful. I added more spices it called for, but I like spicy food. My husband is allergic to gluten, so i tried his gluten-free bread for the crumbs. You don't need to cook them- the bread is dry & hard enough, but works great. (It's a good way to get rid of gluten-free bread u don't eat often & that tastes ucky, in my opinion!) ;) Only thing- cook longer than it says. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Best meatloaf ever. I added a small portion of pableno pepper. Decreased salt to one teaspoon. A hit with my family who has never been fans of meatloaf. I will probably make it again, by request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made this evening. Hubby loved it; I thought it a bit bland. Maybe some more seasoning? The texture was great! I increased cooking time and made two smaller loafs. Definitely needs the glaze to have some flavor. Good base recipe but will add some things in the future to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I pureed the heck out of the veggies so nobody would know they were there. Skipped the cayenne and controlled the heat with the hot sauce in the topping. Next time I will add some spinach or whatever veggies I have a little left of. Once they were pureed (to liquid state so nobody could identify anything "healthy") nobody knew they were there. The fam loved the topping. I prefer parmesan cheese on top so made two with parm and the rest with Chef John's sauce. Chef John never fails. And because I added so many veggies to this we splurged and had Chef John's Ultimate Mashed Potatoes - 3 1 lb potatoes to 1lb of butter!!! (Only I couldn't go that far, I did a 1/2 lb plus another half stick and it was perfectly divine... didn't splurge on the European butter THIS TIME). This is the first time I have ever made a meatloaf that my family could eat. I can cook some pretty fancy stuff but basic meatloaf is beyond me. I think one of the tricks was not over mixing the meat. Next time around I am going to add even more veggies (spinach maybe). Once pureed it adds moisture to the meatloaf and great flavor. My 7 y/o budding chef wanted to try it as meatloaf muffins. So I upped the temp to 350 and started checking them at 45 minutes. I also drained the grease and turned the muffin pans about midway thru (be sure to put a pan under the muffin pan to catch any grease that may spill over). Only other change was whole wheat Ritz cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States