Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Doubled it but didn't make the glaze. It was absolutely delicious! Cooked it for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killbuck, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I Use my SLOW COOKER to cook this meatloaf and it is amazing! I do not add mushrooms, bell or Cheyenne pepper. I also use a meatloaf mix (beef pork & veal). I also do not add mustard to the glaze. These are the only things I do different & that is due to my family's taste. And if you think this meatloaf is good, you need to try chef johns meatballs-totally amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious, I used 1/4 c bread crumbs topped up with rolled oats for the almost 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. Served with mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli and mushroom gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
So tasty, moist and tender. For those of you that have been following Chef John for awhile: you should know that he underestimates cooking times quite often because I don't think that he accurately times anything outside of his perfect prime rib recipe. Just use an instant-read thermometer and remove the meatloaf from the oven when it reaches 155 deg F. The addition of pureed veggies to the meat was essential for making it so moist and the Sriracha sauce added the needed kick for the glaze. I have enough leftover meatloaf to make cold meatloaf sandwiches for awhile. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We liked this meatloaf and it made good leftover sandwiches the next day. I left out the red pepper and mushroom though because we do not care for red pepper and I didn't think 4 mushrooms would make or break the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I altered it but it was amazing. This is the first meatloaf I have ever made. This chef made it so easy!! I made this in a smaller portion for just me and my boyfriend. I used 1.13lbs of ground beef, pork, and veal mixed. (Stop & Shop sells it that way as a meatloaf mix) I only used garlic, white onion and red bell pepper for veggies. I did not use italian seasoning. Instead I used italian style breadcrumbs. I cooked it at 350 for the times he said but had to add 15min to the end. So it took 15min, coat it with sauce, then 45min at 350 to cook through. And that was only 1.13lbs! So, yes, the time is off but whatever. All ovens are different so people should be checking their food anyway when following a recipe. The meat was SOOO MOIST! I believe thats from using a food processer to mince the veggies vs chopping them. This is super important. My picky boyfriend LOVED it and I loved it too! We ate the whole thing ourselves! Thanks to this chef, I mastered making meatloaf on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My family loved this meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Hip Hip Hooray!!! My husband is the world's pickiest meatloaf eater. His favorite meatloaf is Boston Market's. I have tried a gazillion recipes (well, maybe not quite a gazillion). Many friends have said, "Oh, I make REALLY good meatloaf... here's the recipe". He didn't like any of them. THIS RECIPE HE LIKES!! I asked him if I should make it again and he said YES! Thank you, Chef John. You ROCK! I basically halved the recipe because there's only two of us. I sauteed the pureed vegetables for a few minutes. I used 1-1/2 lbs. 80/20 ground beef, 3 mushrooms, 1 clove garlic, 1 whole egg, a PINCH of McCormick's Italian Seasoning, no cayenne, seasoned bread crumbs AND a squirt of ketchup in the meatloaf mix. I reduced the mustard to about a teaspoon and added another squirt of ketchup after tasting. Shaped it into about a 3x8 loaf and baked for 1 hour, 5 mins. total (internal temp 160).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was a great recipe to follow. I did not use all the veggies that it called for because I did not have them all and I did not want to take a trip to the store so I improvised! But it was still a good meatloaf. It did take longer to cook than suggested but otherwise a great recipe to follow and alter to your own tastes if needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
As written, the cayenne is a bit too much. Next time I will omit or decrease to 1/8 tsp. I omitted the red pepper and mushrooms and increased the carrots, onions and celery. Followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States