Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The whole family loved this one! The pureed vegetables seemed to add a "fluffiness" to the result, while the loaf still held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made a different recipe for a meatloaf last Sunday, but made this glaze and it was truly wonderful. Made my meatloaf in a tin and the glaze gave the juice from the loaf a really lovely taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I wish I would have read the reviews. The cooking time was off so I put it back in the oven at 350 for another 30 minutes. Next time I would omit the bell pepper which I usually love. I would also eliminate the cayenne pepper that my husband was not fond of. I think the dijon mustard was slightly over powering so I will only use 1 T next time. We needed it to be gluten free so we omitted the bread crumbs and ground up some Trader Joe's Gluten Free oatmeal. It wasn't a hit with my kids this time but I'll try it again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harbor Beach, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The addition of the vegetables made an incredible difference to a classic comfort dinner. I have always made my meatloaf using the "onion soup mix" recipe. My husband, however, had always loved his mom's meatloaf with lots of chunky veggies. I found this recipe, and it made the best meatloaf using both styles. I prepared the vegetables as Chef John suggests, then added them to the meatloaf recipe on the onion soup packet and cooked the loaf for the time recommended on the packet. (No other ingredients or glaze.) The results were wonderful; it was easily the best meatloaf ever. The meatloaf was very moist and juicy, and had the most interesting flavor and texture. I won't use any other method from now on; there is no comparison. Hats off to Chef John for another wonderful technique!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I have made this meatloaf before and each time it has turned out well. The video gives some extra information that ois helpful, especially in regards to the cooking times and letting it cool before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We loved this one but made one change and that was to use 3 lbs of extra lean chicken instead of the chuck....I know...its a big change...BUT it was excellent and cut way down on fat and calories. I kept all the other ingredients the same and even used the glaze on half of the meatloaf since the kiddos dont care for it. Great flavors here with all of the veggies and actually nice and moist again due to all of the veggies. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Best meatloaf I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I shredded the carrot, celery and onion to help with chopping. This took no time at all. Put the garlic thru a press. Meatloaf was alittle salty, will cut back on salt and cayenne pepper next time. Cooking time was right on for me. I used a meat thremometer to be sure. I had wathced the video and I think shaping the meatloaf as directed in the video helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRINGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I ended up making two small portions instead of one. I thought the Dijon mustard was a bit over powering in the glaze sauce, next time I'm going to cut it in half and add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was thumbs down for me :( This recipe called for a lot of ingrediants and was very time consuming. Not a good recipe for a busy Mom. I thought I would make the effort for my son's sake....to get some healthy veggies in his diet. Did'nt work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States