Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The time is correct but you must put it in an open pan and shape as he does in the video. If you are making it in a loaf pan it has to cook longer. I cooked as he did in video and it was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apfire8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I just got through eating this. The flavor was amazing, and it was perfectly moist and delicious... But I took the advice of everyone else, and cooked it at 325° for the first 15 minutes, then glazed it, and turned it up to 350° and cooked it for an additional hour. My whole family loved it.... And I also made the mushroom sauce that was mentioned in the video... It was killer!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
No haven't tried this recipe yet but am going to make it for tonight's dinner. I think the problem with the oven temp is that the conversion from centigrade to Fahrenheit has been incorrectly calculated The Fahrenheit setting should read 325*approx. hope this helps.----325= 160/170- 3- Moderate 3 being the gas temp Recipe sounds great to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Helensville, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I have spent years searching for the perfect meatloaf and this is the best I have found. It has wonderful flavor and is moist and holds together well without being tough. I recommend watching the video as his suggestions are very helpful. I only had Italian seasoned breadcrumbs so I left out the Italian herbs. I also left out the cayenne pepper as a matter of personal taste. I made this into 2 loafs and wrapped and froze them for later use. It froze well and baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My mom made great meatloaf. Never the same each time. Mine was hit or miss. This recipe is perfect. Perfect consistancy, never crumbles and reheats well. Make your own tweaks for flavor but delicious as is. I add fresh parsley to the veg blended in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Yummy! We especially enjoyed the topping. This was my first try at making meatloaf. I watched the video of the chef making it, and mine turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
DELICIOUS! I adore your recipes- they always are so easy and yummy. I gave some to my friend at work and she asked what the special ingredient was because it had some zing to it! Of course, it was your signature the Cayenne! Very rich- but super good! I used the recipe from the shepards pie to make the mashed potatoes (used yellow) that had the sour cream and cheese in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very tasty, A little bit dry, so I highly recommend a little milk. I made this into two meatloaves, cooked @ 350 for 1 hour. Was delicious. I used a heaping tablespoon of preminced garlic. No mushrooms because I didn't have any, nor the carrots and celery. I have done it with them before and I do highly recommend it. I used one of the "stir fry" frozen Onion & Pepper mix. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Amazing! I am a meatloaf lover and I have been reluctant to deviate from the recipe on the back of the bread crumb box, however this is the new standard. I love the fact it has lots of veggies, which makes my wife very happy. This is truly classic meatloaf. I made Chef John's German potato pancakes, which was a first because I always make mashed potatoes with the meatloaf. Another "crowd pleaser" to say the least. This website has done more for my eating habits than any other website or magazine. I am pleased with the quality of the recipes, especially Chef John's offerings. As for cooking times, I did have to increase the oven temperature to 350 degrees because it wasn't cooking fast enough. I also cut the recipe in half but I will make two meatloaves with the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and the meatloaf was very mushy when it came out. I thought it was the pureed veggies that did it. I used fresh veggies too. We did make the best of it and the entire thing did get eaten. I don't think I will make this again, unless I hear of a similar recipe that maybe solves this issue that a lot of people seemed to have. I do like the idea of the veggies being in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States