Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My family loved this meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Hip Hip Hooray!!! My husband is the world's pickiest meatloaf eater. His favorite meatloaf is Boston Market's. I have tried a gazillion recipes (well, maybe not quite a gazillion). Many friends have said, "Oh, I make REALLY good meatloaf... here's the recipe". He didn't like any of them. THIS RECIPE HE LIKES!! I asked him if I should make it again and he said YES! Thank you, Chef John. You ROCK! I basically halved the recipe because there's only two of us. I sauteed the pureed vegetables for a few minutes. I used 1-1/2 lbs. 80/20 ground beef, 3 mushrooms, 1 clove garlic, 1 whole egg, a PINCH of McCormick's Italian Seasoning, no cayenne, seasoned bread crumbs AND a squirt of ketchup in the meatloaf mix. I reduced the mustard to about a teaspoon and added another squirt of ketchup after tasting. Shaped it into about a 3x8 loaf and baked for 1 hour, 5 mins. total (internal temp 160).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was a great recipe to follow. I did not use all the veggies that it called for because I did not have them all and I did not want to take a trip to the store so I improvised! But it was still a good meatloaf. It did take longer to cook than suggested but otherwise a great recipe to follow and alter to your own tastes if needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
As written, the cayenne is a bit too much. Next time I will omit or decrease to 1/8 tsp. I omitted the red pepper and mushrooms and increased the carrots, onions and celery. Followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I halved the recipe and it fit perfectly in a loaf pan. I baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes. It definitely had a distinct taste - I think from the vegetables. I changed the glaze a little - more ketchup, less brown sugar, etc. Just to my own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is my son's favorite meatloaf,minus the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Made this for the homeless shelter last night. 12 pounds of meat for 40 guys made into 4 loaves. It was great. The guys are always appreciative, but last night they said "thank you" with feeling. One gentleman requested meatloaf 3 times a week. I served the meatloaf with Chef John's mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes. Comfort food for sure. I cut back a tad on the cayenne, pepper and salt, but otherwise followed the ingredient list very closely. The food-processed veggies are a genius addition. Baked in the oven for 1 1/2 hours and the meat loaves were perfect. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. Made it several times. And even though I don't like when people unnecessarily modify recipes, because then it's not the recipe given anymore. I have to say that I changed the cooking time on mine. Because you can't cook 2 1/2 lbs of raw ground meat in 45 minutes, without getting sick. The cooking time is closer to 90 minutes-to 1 hour 45 minutes. And it's still moist. Real comfort food for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I would suggest to everyone to watch the video on this recipe since the cooking instructions are different than the printed recipe. The cooking time is stated to reach a temp of 155°, and he states up to 40 more minutes or longer depending on the size of your loaf and pan you use. I heavily rely on a cooking thermometer when it comes to cooking meat in the oven. After the 50 minutes at 325°, my temperature was at 136, so I baked for 15 more minutes, it was then 157°, perfectly done in 1 hour 5 minutes. I always use a casserole dish with room on the sides in lieu of a loaf pan for meatloaf so the juices have some place to go instead of my oven floor. I only gave four stars, because although the flavor was close to excellent and certainly a very nice moist meatloaf, it just wasn't juicy like we're used to more like mushy moist, it had quite a different type of texture. We don't mind little chunks of veggies, and if you're one than needs to hide your veggies, this is your recipe. I think I prefer to very finely chop the veggies and give them a quick saute then add into the meat. The glaze was a bit strong on the mustard flavor even after I added in more ketchup. I left all the hot stuff out. We all liked it, but all three of my guys said they liked mine better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love this recipe but the cooking time is way off.. I've tried this three times and each time have raised the oven temperature. Love the texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States