Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Love this recipe, it is my go to meatloaf recipe going forward. Really like the puréed vegtables in this dish. I made recipe as is with a few minor tweaks; made into 2 smaller loaves vs 1 large loaf, this way you can freeze one for a later dinner. I added 2 tablespoons of chili sauce to the glaze. I baked for 30 mins, then removed from oven and added glaze and cooked for another 45 to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is the 3rd time using this recipe. I LOVE IT! It is so good! Cooking for one and this makes a big loaf, so I freeze a meal or two and give the rest away to friends and family. Everyone enjoys it. I do increase the cooking temp to 350 for about an hour to an hour and 1/2...I start checking the meat temperature after about an hour. Thank You Chef John....its a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was the best meat loaf I have ever had... my husband totally enjoyed it as well. Full of flavour and very moist... cooked it longer though. Will definitely be making this over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Best meatloaf I ever made! It is so moist and flavorful. My husband couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I used half red BBQ sauce with have yellow mustard BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted! it's fun to make, and my family woofs it down! I press the juice out of the "almost-pureed" vegetables before adding them to the meat. Dont know if you're supposed to or not, but I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
We loved this meatloaf. I used 1 lb lean ground beef and 1 lb ground turkey and I always substitute Stove Top Stuffing for bread crumbs. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
It was my first-ever meat loaf. I didn't have a meat processor so I just chopped everything really tiny (of course that had to take a lot of time--so I skipped the carrots). But everybdoy just loved it. It was nice and moist and flavorful. Oh! I forgot to mention that I added half a pound of ground pork which I believe added to it being moist and flavorful too. And based on the other reviewers, I added more cooking time, around 20 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
After watching the video and reading many reviews, I made this meatloaf,and followed the recipe exactly. I shaped the meatloaf as written (6" x 4" high), cooked it for 15 minutes, glazed it, then stuck a thermometer in for the duration of cooking. Also, my oven thermometer verified that the oven temp was 325 degrees. At the 35 minute mark, the meat thermometer registered 100 degrees. In all, the cooking time to reach 155 degrees F was 1.5 hours. I let is rest until the thermometer registered 160 degrees, another 5 minutes. The cayenne made it too hot for us, otherwise, it was a good (but not great) meatloaf. It is a good way to add veggies if you need to hide them, but for us, it was not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Have to say that my hubby and I both loved this recipe (we followed the higher cooking temp and longer cooking times) I do not eat meat and therefore have substituted veggie-ground-round* for the ground beef in my "meat loaf". Both versions turned out beautifully! In order for the veggie meat to hold together I did use 2 eggs. I used fresh herbs; rosemary, thyme, sage, oregano and Italian parsley instead of the dried (I know you said "no substitutes" Chef John, BUT..I had to try) in both meat and meatless versions. Also, we do not own a food processor so I just finely chopped the veggies and this worked well (probably because of the longer cooking time). In some of the reviews people have omitted the glaze, but, I have to say that we really did enjoy it. My hubby isn't a saucy guy, but he is a true meatatarian and therefore loves all things meat. So, I lined the baking dish of the meat version with bacon. I would recommend that if you do this you should omit half of the salt in the recipe. The bacon will add the extra saltiness. Bon appetite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States