Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
We loved this meatloaf. I used 1 lb lean ground beef and 1 lb ground turkey and I always substitute Stove Top Stuffing for bread crumbs. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
It was my first-ever meat loaf. I didn't have a meat processor so I just chopped everything really tiny (of course that had to take a lot of time--so I skipped the carrots). But everybdoy just loved it. It was nice and moist and flavorful. Oh! I forgot to mention that I added half a pound of ground pork which I believe added to it being moist and flavorful too. And based on the other reviewers, I added more cooking time, around 20 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
After watching the video and reading many reviews, I made this meatloaf,and followed the recipe exactly. I shaped the meatloaf as written (6" x 4" high), cooked it for 15 minutes, glazed it, then stuck a thermometer in for the duration of cooking. Also, my oven thermometer verified that the oven temp was 325 degrees. At the 35 minute mark, the meat thermometer registered 100 degrees. In all, the cooking time to reach 155 degrees F was 1.5 hours. I let is rest until the thermometer registered 160 degrees, another 5 minutes. The cayenne made it too hot for us, otherwise, it was a good (but not great) meatloaf. It is a good way to add veggies if you need to hide them, but for us, it was not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Have to say that my hubby and I both loved this recipe (we followed the higher cooking temp and longer cooking times) I do not eat meat and therefore have substituted veggie-ground-round* for the ground beef in my "meat loaf". Both versions turned out beautifully! In order for the veggie meat to hold together I did use 2 eggs. I used fresh herbs; rosemary, thyme, sage, oregano and Italian parsley instead of the dried (I know you said "no substitutes" Chef John, BUT..I had to try) in both meat and meatless versions. Also, we do not own a food processor so I just finely chopped the veggies and this worked well (probably because of the longer cooking time). In some of the reviews people have omitted the glaze, but, I have to say that we really did enjoy it. My hubby isn't a saucy guy, but he is a true meatatarian and therefore loves all things meat. So, I lined the baking dish of the meat version with bacon. I would recommend that if you do this you should omit half of the salt in the recipe. The bacon will add the extra saltiness. Bon appetite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Absolutely love, love, love this. Doubled up on the sauce, but that's just personal preference. Served up with cheese and spring onion mash, mushroom gravy, and fine green beans. Can't wait to make it again. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjftigra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As with a majority of the others on here it is the cooking time that knocks the rating down! Otherwise thus was a great dish to trick my kids into eating more veggies than normal. I also added some zucchini as a bonus. Nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Bennington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Followed this recipe with everything except the mushrooms & bell pepper, husband won't eat either). Frankly, the Italian herbs was a bit too much & the glaze, just using 3 drops of hotsauce, was awful. Won't be making this again, as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made it and every body at home enjoyed it so much!!! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Just tried this recipe for the first time today! It is definitely one of the best ever..I seperated it into two loaves.It cooked more quickly that way.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Strubel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
really good taste and would be great even without the sugary glaze I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States