Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Too much sugar, I used less. I also added hard boiled eggs but to be honest with that green pepper in there, all I could taste after the ingredients had melded was the green pepper, the pimentos not so much. I'd leave it out next time. I also like corn and cheddar cheese in it but stuck more to this recipe this time. It's a classic allright like so many other classics where all you can taste is the raw pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is hands down the best macaroni salad I ever made or tasted. I follow the recipe to a T, except for the pimentos because I never have any in the house. So much flavor, everyone raves about it, and they demand that I make it at every BBQ. The only thing I can say about the negative reviews is that people really do have different tastes, and that can be said about every recipe on the planet. It doesn't matter how good it is to one person, someone else won't like it...period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I found the base for the dressing a great start. I did find it a bit dry the next day so I tried the suggestion by JqSmith at adding the dressing the day of the serving but still made a little more dressing about a cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
sweet, cut back sugar; needed boiled eggs & celery. Did not have so used celery seed. Made the dressing the night before, pasta really sucks up the dressing may want to double so can keep adding as needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I found it turned out to taste like honey mustard. To alter this recipe I would probably cut down the sugar as well as the vinegar and mustard, as the dressing that was made straight from the recipe was very intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Warning from other reviewers on the sugar. Start small, add to taste. Except for that, which I'm glad I paid heed, I would have given 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'm not sure how "classic" this is but it has a good foundation for greatness. I liked the addition of sugar, though I reduced the amount to 1/3 cup. It rendered a delicate sweetness, and balanced well with the other ingredients. There was definitely something missing, so I added 3 hard cooked eggs as others suggested, sliced black olives, and cooked green peas. I also suggest using green onions as they have more flavor. Personally I don't like bell pepper in my mac salad, so I omitted it. The dressing stays nice and keeps the pasta moist in the salad, with no need to add anything else prior to serving. Great for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the best macaroni salad! I added some bread & butter pickles chopped up in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is the first time I've made macaroni salad. It was a pretty easy recipe. I cut back on the sugar a little. I added 3 eggs & 4 dill pickle spears. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
You got a winner there Bradford,Muffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States