Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Like others I found this recipe much too sweet. I think omitting or at least cutting the sugar back drastically will improve this recipe if you don't like sweet Mac salad. I had to add more vinegar and mustard to try to cut back on the sweetness. I was hoping letting it sit overnight would help, as some suggested. It didn't. Overall I might use some of the other ingredients as a base, but as written I didn't like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenmac287
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Sweet twist on a classic recipe.. Very good. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent macaroni salad! I have made this a dozen or so times and each time it is devoured by my family. I did make a few changes. I cut the sugar in half and also the vinegar. I added 3 hard boiled eggs, chopped and occasionally I have added a little bit of sour cream to make it extra creamy. I usually use sweet red bell peppers in place of the green. This is truly a great classic macaroni salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great recipe but only used 1/3 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
What a great recipe!!! I cut down on the sugar. My husband does not like macaroni salad and he likes this one. My second time making it per his request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Excellent salad. Took to a BBQ and everyone loved it. A definite keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
what about the vinegar - I made 3 batches eliminated the vinegar (made the whole mix WAY to sour with the mustard) - less Mustard, so not so sour - and a few teaspoons of sugar - Gotta make it again this weekend - just wish i had exact measurements - oh and definitely added hard boiled eggs.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I liked it with some variations ... instead of so much sugar, I only put 2 tsp (along with 2 tsp of sweet pickle juice instead of the vinegar). I just stuck to the celery (v. adding in carrots, peppers, and pimentos) and put in 3 chopped boiled eggs. I use 1/2 cup of red onion as well ... so I guess I did alter it somewhat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My husband who hated macaroni salad loved this!! He said he could eat the whole bowl!! I did as others suggested and only used 1/3 cup of sugar and it still was a little sweet for my taste. I added 3 eggs as we'll and next time will add more. Also to the dressing I added celery seed, garlic powder, and a splash of milk to make it creamier. I also added an extra stalk of celery and an extra carrot. Was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I just made this for a family reunion and it is fantastic! Only change I made was to use red onion and red pepper instead of green and for the mustard I used Weber's Horseradish prepared mustard. Added a really nice kick to it. The initial taste made me want more. Not too sweet and so flavorful. Can hardly wait to taste it tomorrow. I did make 1 and 1/2 times the dressing because I don't like dry macaroni salad plus pasta soaks up dressing as it stands. Love this recipe. Comes very close to my mother's and hers was the best! This is a real KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States