Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I added more macaroni (minus the optional carrots) otherwise kept to the exact recipe and it was a huge hit! I had to make another batch soon after since it was gobbled up with no leftovers at a family function. Is a keeper! Perfect touch of sweetness although not too sweet. I used 5 cups of macaroni and maybe that's why it wasn't TOO sweet, but I'm gonna keep this one around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is a fantastic macaroni salad! Really easy and so good. I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo and cut the sugar in half. Everyone loved it. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
So glad I tried this recipe. I have made it 3 times lately for company. Everyone likes it and one person wants the recipe. The fact that you can adjust it to your own taste is awesome. We like it mainly because the mayo with vinegar makes it less creamy and not so rich, and it keeps longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really good! I made as directed except I cut the sugar by almost half due to the reviews and I used lite Miracle Whip instead of Mayo. Next time I think I'll add a good bit of thawed raw green peas and more pimento. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Really liked this recipe for macaroni salad. I followed a few of the other reviewers' tips: cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and used 1/2 TB less mustard. I also added some frozen mixed veggies, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon bits - my family loved it! The following day, I added some tuna and served it over some Romaine lettuce, and it made a nice little lunch :) I could never really find a good recipe for a classic macaroni salad (without all the fancy ingredients or things I didn't have on hand), but this one is a keeper! Next, I'll try it for a potato salad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Super easy and really good whole family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn5676

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I prepare a very similar recipe all the time, especially in summer months, and it is always a hit with family and friends. I add cheddar cheese, cut into small cubes, and normally do not add onion or carrots (as a personal choice). Other than that, recipe is the same!!! I do find that on the 2nd or 3rd day, if there's any left, you have to add a bit more mayonnaise to keep it moist!! If you haven't tried this one, it's definitely one to add to the top of your list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This tasted like how a true macaroni salad should taste. I should add though, I found the "dressing" mixture to be a little on the thin side. I'm used to a thicker coating on my macaroni salad. I'm guessing this is because of the lower fat mayo I used, but it could be that plus the combo of vinegar that thinned things out. I'll probably never buy full fat mayo, so there's no way for me to confirm this. But just thought I'd mention it in case others are also intending on using low fat mayo. Other than that, this was spot on in taste and appearance. Thanks for sharing! And with any cold starchy salad (macaroni, potato, etc), leaving it in the fridge to firm up is a must. It makes all the difference and it also gives the flavours a chance to come through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I'm not a fan of a strong mayonnaise taste. My husband on the other hand is and he did not like this recipe as much as other macaroni salads. He did say it tasted better on the second day than on the first. I however thought it was one of the best ones I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I really liked this recipe!! Only reason i rated a 4 is bc it would b way too sweet with that amount lf sugar. I cut the sugar in half and its perfect. When u first taste it it still tastes really sweet. But a few hours in the fridge and it tastes just right. Otherwise, this recipe is amazing! I brought it on a camping trip and i had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States