Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lisa j
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Giving this 5 stars based on changes. Sorry. I added 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp garlic powder and 3 hard boiled eggs. Reduced sugar to 1/4 cup. Put two thirds dressing on. Refrigerated for about five hours then put the remaining dressing on. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I thought this was pretty good though I used much less sugar because I didn't want it sweet at all. I thought the pimentos added a really nice flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Tried this recipe for the 4th of July 2014, It is amazing. Just as it is. I was kind of hesitant because of some of the reviews stating it was too sweet. It good just as it is. Understanding we all have taste buds that react to different taste in different ways. So I will only say how my taste buds reacted and I love it. Even my nine years old who hates everything loved it. I kinda was nervous because of the celery and onions which she hates, she watched me make it and was saying no mom no onions and no celery, but I wanted to make it as the recipe called for at least. So if I didn't like it I would adjust the next time. All my guests loved it and wanted the recipe. Next time I may make it as it is on the recipe but add shrimp, or crab meat, or maybe chicken. Glad I foud this recipe. It beats my old favorite by miles. Taste better than my old favorite from the deli. There's a new mac salad in town for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Loved it and will definitely make this again. I will cut the sugar to 1/3 cup of sugar next time. I used a red pepper in place of the bell pepper because that was all I had. It added a nice color to the dish without changing the recipe too much. I also added 6 chopped hard boiled eggs because I like egg in my macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minerva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I use 2 16oz boxes (alot of us), just adding the green pepper and onion for vegetables, sometimes adding some drained cans of tuna too. After the sauce is mixed (I use a little less vinegar and sugar than stated) in with the pasta I sprinkle and mix in some dill weed and cilantro. I've also made this only using the sauce, grilled chicken strips and cooked, frozen broccoli. This is a regular at family cookouts and a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a very delicious dish! I didn't add carrots or pimento because I didn't have them on hand. I did add a 5oz can of tuna though. It was a hit with the whole family even a 2 yo and super picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is fine if you like the mass produced flavor of your local grocery deli. The comments I heard were more concerns about why Mom didn't make the macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
wonderful did this for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
After dumping in the 2/3 cup sugar, I read the comments and realized this was probably a mistake. If you did this, not to worry! Just add an extra 1/2 cup mayo, 2 more celery stalks, an extra (red) onion and green pepper, 2 more cups of pasta, and sprinkle garlic powder and paprika liberally. That is what I did and I think it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Served this at a Canada Day Celebrations involving 120 people. Everyone raved about it. Best ever macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States