Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
yum! remember to coat the pasta in olive oil before applying the dressing. it will keep the pasta from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Amazing! Won't be buying macaroni salad again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Strelka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Nice flavour, but a bit on the sweet side. Next time I will cut the sugar by half and add a bit more salt and pepper to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
When I first started making this I wasn't too sure...it looked to "wet' and seemed to have a lot of onion. This turned out to be FANTASTIC! I didn't have celery or carrot, so I added a large chopped onion, a small jar of drained and chopped pimentos, and about 6 small dill pickles, chopped. I also didn't have white vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar instead. I read a lot of reviews about this being too sweet, but I still added a scant 1/2 cup and it was perfect. With all those onions and vinegar, you need some sweetness to tone them down. I also thought the salt and pepper quantities were perfect as well. One of my favorite recipes I've gotten from this site in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe to play with. I had made this once as is, with the exception of halving the sugar and that I used brown rice pasta. It got a lot of compliments, keeps well. When I made it again I used a special brown rice rotini pasta, added some paprika and it turned out even nicer. Lots of things you could do to modify it to suit your wants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Family loved this recipe. Very simple ingredients and very inexpensive to make. This recipe is a.keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I make pasta salads about once a month. I was craving something traditional after making so many "fancier" pasta salads. This hit the spot. Like others, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, a little less vinegar, and added 1/3 cup sour cream to make it creamier. You can add whatever vegetables you have on hand. I used 1/2 a yellow onion, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 green pepper, peas, 3 boiled eggs, and cubed cheese. Really hit the spot for what I was craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I gave it 4 stars only because I modified this because of other reviews. I did half the sugar. I did add the carrot which was optional. I added some shredded cheese based on reviews. This got rave reviews even from my daughter who does not eat macaroni salad!!!! While it is fine after 4 hours in the fridge, it really is even better the next day! Thank you for such a fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I loved the recipe. Just perfect.Although i did some changes. I didn't add the celery or pimentos. I put apple cider vinegar instead of the white. Put half an onion and half the green pepper and 1 carrot. Added chickpeas, sliced black and green onions, shredded cheddar cheese and 3 boiled eggs. The other sauce ingredients i kept the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa j
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Giving this 5 stars based on changes. Sorry. I added 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp garlic powder and 3 hard boiled eggs. Reduced sugar to 1/4 cup. Put two thirds dressing on. Refrigerated for about five hours then put the remaining dressing on. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States