Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Have tried this 2 ways ..as written and with my modifications .. As written for me its a 3.5 stars...with a few modification for personal taste it 4.5 .. hence the 4 star rating. It is flavorful and definately needs to refridgerate over night for best flavor. The recipe calls for Mayo .. dont use Miracle Whip. My Modifications .. cut the pasta to 2 cups , eggs to 2 , and added 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt for a creamier texture .. i prefer my mac salad just a touch on the sweet side so add 2 packets of splenda ... next time I am going to try it cutting the mustard back too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
It's goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love this! Everyone asked me for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very good dressing. Works great with coleslaw too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed some suggestions from other reviewers and used 1/4 cup sugar, garlic salt instead of regular salt, and added paprika (which turned the dish orange XD). I accidentally added too much vinegar, so I had to put in a lot more mayo. I taste tested it before sticking it in the fridge so it'd be ready for this evening's Thanksgiving feast, and it's okay. It's probably because I accidentally let the bottle of vinegar "glug" by tipping it over too much, but in any case 2 tablespoons seems like an awful lot. If you like a mild macaroni salad, cut the vinegar in half or use 1.5 tablespoons. Taste it before adding the full amount. Note: I cut the recipe yield in half. Four cups of uncooked pasta is an awful lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I love this recipe, and its my go-to for bbqs. I substitued the celeey for cucumbers and with the acid of the dressing they almost tasted like pickles =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. I cut the sugar to only 1/2 cup to make it less sweet, but other than that I think the recipe is perfect. Family absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I really liked this macaroni salad recipe, the pasta didn't dry out and it makes a good basic side dish. I didn't add any celery or pimentos, and only half an onion (around here we're a bit iffy on raw onion and we don't like celery). With the sugar I noticed that others had complained it was too sweet, so I just added it spoonful by spoonful into the dressing base until I was happy with the taste, although it was way less than 2/3c. I did use half regular mustard and half Dijon, I'm running out of both so I just made it up to the right amount. I didn't grate the carrot and I added 2 in total, and half a capsicum just because we had it. It's a very versatile base macaroni salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Yummy dish when you mix everything together. I HIGHLY RECCOMMEND adding bacon bits to enhance the flavor even more!!! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Way too sweet. Totally cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States