Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
What a great recipe!!! I cut down on the sugar. My husband does not like macaroni salad and he likes this one. My second time making it per his request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Excellent salad. Took to a BBQ and everyone loved it. A definite keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
what about the vinegar - I made 3 batches eliminated the vinegar (made the whole mix WAY to sour with the mustard) - less Mustard, so not so sour - and a few teaspoons of sugar - Gotta make it again this weekend - just wish i had exact measurements - oh and definitely added hard boiled eggs.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I liked it with some variations ... instead of so much sugar, I only put 2 tsp (along with 2 tsp of sweet pickle juice instead of the vinegar). I just stuck to the celery (v. adding in carrots, peppers, and pimentos) and put in 3 chopped boiled eggs. I use 1/2 cup of red onion as well ... so I guess I did alter it somewhat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My husband who hated macaroni salad loved this!! He said he could eat the whole bowl!! I did as others suggested and only used 1/3 cup of sugar and it still was a little sweet for my taste. I added 3 eggs as we'll and next time will add more. Also to the dressing I added celery seed, garlic powder, and a splash of milk to make it creamier. I also added an extra stalk of celery and an extra carrot. Was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I just made this for a family reunion and it is fantastic! Only change I made was to use red onion and red pepper instead of green and for the mustard I used Weber's Horseradish prepared mustard. Added a really nice kick to it. The initial taste made me want more. Not too sweet and so flavorful. Can hardly wait to taste it tomorrow. I did make 1 and 1/2 times the dressing because I don't like dry macaroni salad plus pasta soaks up dressing as it stands. Love this recipe. Comes very close to my mother's and hers was the best! This is a real KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a great pasta salad. Definitely refrigerate overnight for best flavor. I followed the recipe exactly but I did make 1 1/2 times the amount of sauce as the pasta absorbs some of it. Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Too much vinegar, mustard and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra Alava

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe! I used half the sugar and a little extra mayonnaise and it was perfect! I am definitely making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
yum! remember to coat the pasta in olive oil before applying the dressing. it will keep the pasta from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States