Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My husband who hated macaroni salad loved this!! He said he could eat the whole bowl!! I did as others suggested and only used 1/3 cup of sugar and it still was a little sweet for my taste. I added 3 eggs as we'll and next time will add more. Also to the dressing I added celery seed, garlic powder, and a splash of milk to make it creamier. I also added an extra stalk of celery and an extra carrot. Was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I just made this for a family reunion and it is fantastic! Only change I made was to use red onion and red pepper instead of green and for the mustard I used Weber's Horseradish prepared mustard. Added a really nice kick to it. The initial taste made me want more. Not too sweet and so flavorful. Can hardly wait to taste it tomorrow. I did make 1 and 1/2 times the dressing because I don't like dry macaroni salad plus pasta soaks up dressing as it stands. Love this recipe. Comes very close to my mother's and hers was the best! This is a real KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a great pasta salad. Definitely refrigerate overnight for best flavor. I followed the recipe exactly but I did make 1 1/2 times the amount of sauce as the pasta absorbs some of it. Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Too much vinegar, mustard and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra Alava

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe! I used half the sugar and a little extra mayonnaise and it was perfect! I am definitely making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
yum! remember to coat the pasta in olive oil before applying the dressing. it will keep the pasta from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Amazing! Won't be buying macaroni salad again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Strelka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Nice flavour, but a bit on the sweet side. Next time I will cut the sugar by half and add a bit more salt and pepper to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
When I first started making this I wasn't too sure...it looked to "wet' and seemed to have a lot of onion. This turned out to be FANTASTIC! I didn't have celery or carrot, so I added a large chopped onion, a small jar of drained and chopped pimentos, and about 6 small dill pickles, chopped. I also didn't have white vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar instead. I read a lot of reviews about this being too sweet, but I still added a scant 1/2 cup and it was perfect. With all those onions and vinegar, you need some sweetness to tone them down. I also thought the salt and pepper quantities were perfect as well. One of my favorite recipes I've gotten from this site in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe to play with. I had made this once as is, with the exception of halving the sugar and that I used brown rice pasta. It got a lot of compliments, keeps well. When I made it again I used a special brown rice rotini pasta, added some paprika and it turned out even nicer. Lots of things you could do to modify it to suit your wants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States