Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My mother has been making this same recipe for forty years. She found the recipe on the back of a box of macaroni and has been making it that way ever since. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hjnorthrop
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this recipe from my church picnic today. I thought it was delicious. I'll make it again from my family dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was awesome as is. It's just classic macaroni salad. I didn't think it tasted like dessert or that it was too sugary at all. It does need to sit for a few hours to taste right and it looks weird when it is first mixed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sabrina
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I read the reviews on this recipe and was considering adding less sugar. I actually did not quite have enough, so I did add a little less. I thought this recipe was delicious! I really liked the onion and I put in red bell pepper instead of green since that's what I had. I almost did not add the pimentos, but glad I did... I love this recipe and will definitely use it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I really liked it, but i thought it had too much sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Delicious! I used half the amount sugar (was plenty sweet with half the amount!) added 6 tbsp sour cream, 2 tomatoes, garlic powder and cayenne pepper. Left out peppers and carrots! Came out amazing! Definitely have to let it sit for a few hours so it isn't soupy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheila77
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Super easy and quick to make! Fresh favors with sweetness. Delicious and plentiful! Gave it four stars only because it definitely should be made a day ahead for maximum flavor . Also it calls for a lot of unhealthy sugar (but worth it). Highly recommend stirring well before serving to restore moistness without having to add more mayo. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Like others I found this recipe much too sweet. I think omitting or at least cutting the sugar back drastically will improve this recipe if you don't like sweet Mac salad. I had to add more vinegar and mustard to try to cut back on the sweetness. I was hoping letting it sit overnight would help, as some suggested. It didn't. Overall I might use some of the other ingredients as a base, but as written I didn't like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenmac287
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Sweet twist on a classic recipe.. Very good. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States