Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I normally don't like macaroni salad with mustard in the sauce, however this turned out very good. I made it for a party and got many rave reviews on it. I left out the peppers, carrots and pimentos as we didn't have any on hand, but otherwise made as is. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Yes, my gang like it so it's in my favorites now...I did add 3 hard boiled eggs, chopped and only half the onion but recipe is solid... thanks for the old school share...??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I substituted frozen peas for the pimentos and used apple cider vinegar it had been a huge hit?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janill Hallman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Made to recipe and man oh man is it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Blundon
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Like another reviewer suggested, I didn't rinse the macaroni off after draining it; I immediately added the vinegar to the noodles instead. Not sure what kind of difference it made but the whole thing came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Our favorite recipe for mac salad. I half the recipe exactly as written which is enough for 8 people with some left over. Did not have pimento, subbed red pepper. I like the crunchy texture anyway. Other than the great flavor, I liked that it does not get runny but creamy. I think I might add one or two hard boiled eggs the next time or try it with Penne Pasta as suggested. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing and everyone LOVED it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
You definitely have to cut down on the sugar, that's why I'm only giving it 3 stars. But if you do, then it's delicious and deserves 5 stars. I also found out that refrigerating it over night is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This was the best macaroni salad recipe I have found. I usually stick to potato salad because every macaroni salad recipe I tried was not very good. I made it according to the recipe but with only 1/3 cup of sugar. It was a big hit on the 4th of July. Never getting deli salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This is my favorite crown pleasing recipe base I have ever used- like most I also make small changes- First change is less sugar- unless you are used to Hawaiian mac salad and like it sweet! Then I tried it with the new "spicy" yellow mustard- very nice! Also I either cut the macaroni in half or double the dressing, depending on how many I will be feeding- If made as directed and left to sit over night in the fridge, which makes it taste better, the dressing gets completely soaked up. So I reserve half and mix in before serving (after I double it). If I have I also chop some radish for color- or use red peppers as well. I have also mixed in some small cubed cheddar cheese just before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States