Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing and everyone LOVED it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
You definitely have to cut down on the sugar, that's why I'm only giving it 3 stars. But if you do, then it's delicious and deserves 5 stars. I also found out that refrigerating it over night is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This was the best macaroni salad recipe I have found. I usually stick to potato salad because every macaroni salad recipe I tried was not very good. I made it according to the recipe but with only 1/3 cup of sugar. It was a big hit on the 4th of July. Never getting deli salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This is my favorite crown pleasing recipe base I have ever used- like most I also make small changes- First change is less sugar- unless you are used to Hawaiian mac salad and like it sweet! Then I tried it with the new "spicy" yellow mustard- very nice! Also I either cut the macaroni in half or double the dressing, depending on how many I will be feeding- If made as directed and left to sit over night in the fridge, which makes it taste better, the dressing gets completely soaked up. So I reserve half and mix in before serving (after I double it). If I have I also chop some radish for color- or use red peppers as well. I have also mixed in some small cubed cheddar cheese just before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I wasn't sure how to rate this recipe because on one hand it is the exact macaroni salad recipe I was looking for but I did have to make a couple of changes to the recipe. So, I'm rating the recipe a 3 before the changes and a 5 after the changes I made. It seemed like the recipe called for way too much sugar for my taste, so I changed the amount to 2 tablespoons and that made the sweetness just right. Also, I decreased the salt and added just 1 teaspoon. And instead of 1 whole onion I added about 1/4 of a purple onion. Once I made these changes the recipe was fantastic. The vegetables are crunchy and the flavor just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthbyNorthwest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I found this recipe about a month ago & have already made it 3 times with 4 people asking for the recipe! As others suggested, I added the 3 eggs, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, cut back the sugar to slightly less than 1/2 cup, & used green onions (personally not an onion fan). Everyone so far has loved it & taking it to pass at 2 summer get togethers this weekend. Thanks for sharing! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Perfect classic macaroni salad recipe. One caveat: I had to reduce the sugar. I used 1/3 c. (as recommended by others) and even that was sweet, but not overbearing. I may try 1/4 c. next time. We love a tangy salad so we did add more vinegar to the recipe than it called for as well. We used shells and they were great little dressing carriers! Delicious same day and day after! This is a keeper for sure! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
way too sweet!! aside from 2/3 cup of sugar, it was a good recipe. either omit the sugar, or maybe use a tablespoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Simplest and BEST Brownie ever! You must try this. Easy as a mix but doesn't taste like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Perfect recipe for summer picnic. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States