Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Natalie R.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is a great template, but I made lots of changes other reviewers suggested and it turned out great! I used 12 oz macaroni, 8 oz lowfat shredded Italian-blend cheese, about 10 oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese, and about 18 oz fat-free evaporated milk. Instead of layering the butter, I mixed in about 2 T light butter to the cooked macaroni. In a medium bowl, I mixed the cheeses together, and added to that a mix of dry mustard, garlic salt, paprika, salt, and white pepper. I made it in 4 layers, as the recipe calls for. I baked it in a 3-quart casserole at 350F, covered for the first 30 minutes, then uncovered for the last 35 minutes. (Next time I will cook it covered for less time to get a better baked crust. You can see my result in my photo.) Everyone but my 3-year old loved it; he expected the stuff from the box. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I used penne instead of macaroni and, like the suggestions, doubled the cheese and evaporated milk and baked at 350. I thought it came out ok, but I was not overjoyed with the results. Maybe it was because I used penne, but for some reason there were pockets of cheese and pockets of no cheese, so it was a mix of bland and flavorful. Also, doubling the evaporated milk made it a bit runny, so I ended up cooking it more and making the top harder than I would have lied. I will probably try it again with regular macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the BEST Mac and Cheese I have had in a long time. I don't like creamy mac and cheese so I specifically chose this one since the picture looked like the type I prefer. I followed the recipe as given and it turned out perfectly and my boyfriend LOVED it! I definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The kids ate it after adding more cheese, but it was not a tasty side dish by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Pretty good "guideline" recipe, which I altered--it's a basic starting point for great mac n cheese!! I am not big into cheese n mac, so I ended up using about 30oz of pasta. I used sharp cheddar, smoked swiss and cheddar, and colby jack to equal a pound of cheese. I baked at 350 for 10-15 min, then 375 for 30 min, stirring before the last 10 min to keep the top from getting overly crunchy. I did not add the butter or salt or pepper. Wicked Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was so easy to make and both my boys LOVED it!!!! this was the first time I used cheese slices instead of grated cheese, and I think this makes a difference, the cheese melted more evenly than when I used the grated kind. I doubled the cheese and the milk- it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love this recipe!!! But I have to say only because I read the reviews. I took what I liked from each and dundada done......it was delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This so far is THE best mac and cheese I have ever tasted! Its fresh, Real, and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malerba310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great basic recipe, which is what we were looking for. We added more evaporated milk and also an egg for bonding (we're bonding mac n cheese types LOL!). This was great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Simple recipe. Great results!! My daughter went for 2nds which is rare. I added additional milk (most of 1 can of Carnation Evaporated milk) as suggested. I also made a bread crumb and paprika topping. I also mixed 1 Tbsp. each of ground mustard, pepper, and seasoned salt as I feared the recipe would be bland and we don't care for bland food. The only thing I would do different is to try 4 more oz. of cheese or a little less macaroni. In our opinion could have used some more cheese flavor. I baked at 375 on the top rack of the oven for about 40-45 minutes and the top was perfect!!! This will NOT turn out like box Mac and Cheese just to manage expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States