Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
my husband is not a mac&cheese fan but he loved this. I used grated cheddar cheese as well as a little velveeta, could have used more. I reduced temp to 350 degrees, and then last 10 minutes on broil. I also sprinkled some progresso bread crumbs over the top. Was a little dry so next time I will use more evaporated milk. Oh, I also put some ground mustard in it, this made my husband give it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
the only problem is that its too much milk only use half of the can or even regular milk is easier if you like your mac and cheese milk or droopy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was my first time making baked mac & cheese, and it was delicious! I melted the butter in the noodles and mixed it before putting it in the dish. I used 16oz mini penne pasta, and I had 5 different kinds of sliced cheese leftover from a party that I needed to use- not sure exactly how much- probably close to 16oz. I used one 12oz can of evaporated milk. Didn't add salt or pepper so that we could season our own serving. I made 2 layers in a 4 quart Corning Ware baking dish. We had some friends over and they ate almost all of it! Simple, easy recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out horrible! Noone in my family would eat this dish. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie R.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is a great template, but I made lots of changes other reviewers suggested and it turned out great! I used 12 oz macaroni, 8 oz lowfat shredded Italian-blend cheese, about 10 oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese, and about 18 oz fat-free evaporated milk. Instead of layering the butter, I mixed in about 2 T light butter to the cooked macaroni. In a medium bowl, I mixed the cheeses together, and added to that a mix of dry mustard, garlic salt, paprika, salt, and white pepper. I made it in 4 layers, as the recipe calls for. I baked it in a 3-quart casserole at 350F, covered for the first 30 minutes, then uncovered for the last 35 minutes. (Next time I will cook it covered for less time to get a better baked crust. You can see my result in my photo.) Everyone but my 3-year old loved it; he expected the stuff from the box. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I used penne instead of macaroni and, like the suggestions, doubled the cheese and evaporated milk and baked at 350. I thought it came out ok, but I was not overjoyed with the results. Maybe it was because I used penne, but for some reason there were pockets of cheese and pockets of no cheese, so it was a mix of bland and flavorful. Also, doubling the evaporated milk made it a bit runny, so I ended up cooking it more and making the top harder than I would have lied. I will probably try it again with regular macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the BEST Mac and Cheese I have had in a long time. I don't like creamy mac and cheese so I specifically chose this one since the picture looked like the type I prefer. I followed the recipe as given and it turned out perfectly and my boyfriend LOVED it! I definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The kids ate it after adding more cheese, but it was not a tasty side dish by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Pretty good "guideline" recipe, which I altered--it's a basic starting point for great mac n cheese!! I am not big into cheese n mac, so I ended up using about 30oz of pasta. I used sharp cheddar, smoked swiss and cheddar, and colby jack to equal a pound of cheese. I baked at 350 for 10-15 min, then 375 for 30 min, stirring before the last 10 min to keep the top from getting overly crunchy. I did not add the butter or salt or pepper. Wicked Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was so easy to make and both my boys LOVED it!!!! this was the first time I used cheese slices instead of grated cheese, and I think this makes a difference, the cheese melted more evenly than when I used the grated kind. I doubled the cheese and the milk- it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States