Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe suggested and my family thought it was delicious. We are not fans of super- creamy and saucy mac & cheese, so this was perfect. It cooks up so that you can virtually cut it into "bars." It was SO EASY to make, as well. Unlike other reviewers, we loved how it got brown and a bit crunchy on the top. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
thanks so very much! I've been cooking for 54 years. My beloved mother in law taught me, and she used to make this.. I didn't make it for so long I didn't remember exactly how much of what to put in it. Its my husbands favorite way of having mac and cheese. I'm making it tonight and he will be so surprised. This is a great recipe, and again, I thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I am new at this thing called coolking. I like the recipe and will try again. The only reason I did not give it four stars is the warming up of the dish. I missed the chunks you get with adding egg. I followed the recipe exactly. I am learning and this was a good first try at it. Next time I will add two eggs to get more of the dish to be chunky. The only thing I did change was turning down the temp to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is the macaroni and cheese I grew up with. Maybe my mother put an egg in sometimes, but I don't think she did on a regular basis. She just poured the milk (fresh milk, usually) in the baking dish until it was about half way up the macaroni in the dish. I can't imagine twice the cheese or twice the milk as one reviewer suggested. The amount of cheese in the recipe seems right to me. I did cook at 350 until bubbly and a bit browned at the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made it tonight and it was my first time ever, making homemade mac and cheese. Everyone loved it! I made a 9x12 pan and doubled the recipe, I also used Kraft Deluxe American cheese and shredded mild cheddar cheese. I melted my butter and mixed in ground mustard, white pepper and salt. Mixed that in with the pasta, then layered it with the cheese. I poured over two cans of evaporated milk and covered it with foil. I baked it on 350 for about 45 minutes. Will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I grew up on this Mac and cheese my dad made it all the time but along with the evaporated milk he used a large can of stewed tomatoes broken up by hand along with the juice and I also added regular milk just to the top of macaroni then bake until done to this day it is still my all time favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was a great recipe. The recipe asks the chef to bake for one hour at 375--I found that at the 40-minute mark I had to turn the temperature down to 350; otherwise, it was clear that the top would have burned. There was a little bit of boiling over, so put something underneath whatever you're cooking this recipe in so that any run-over gets caught and doesn't soil your oven. I added some diced tomatoes and they were so good that I'll be adding more next time (obviously not recommended if you dislike tomatoes). Oh, and for those that are counting, the nutritional information for the entire recipe (not per serving) is as follows: Calories=3146, Total Fat=118.4g, Saturated Fat=70g, Cholesterol=405.8mg, Sodium=1802.4mg, Carbs=368g, Fiber=15.8g, Sugars=46.6g, Protein=138g. This means that if six people eat this creation, divide these numbers by six. As you can see, this meal packs quite a wallop. About 50% of the calories come from the actual pasta itself. Unsurprisingly, it's the milk, butter and cheese that are responsible for 97.8% of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is very good plain mac and cheese. I used slices and shredded cheese. Also recommend cooking it with a pan under the casserole dish. It didn't leak out for me but other reviewer's had this problem. Better safe than sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
One of our favorites!!! I have always just followed the recipe but I also started using regular milk, and it's AMAZING!!! My family loves this recipe and as a matter of fact, we are having it tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memoriesinprint

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
quick n easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States