Classic Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I needed an egg-free recipe for this bc of my g'daughter's allergies to eggs. I then added 2 more TBS of lime juice and saved time by filling indiv. graham tart shells. I cooked 20 mins waiting for the 'bubbles' to appear but didn't. So when I saw the edges cooking, I took them out of oven. I filled a shallow container with leftover filling, and wouldn't you know, it was a great, creamy consistency w/o any cooking! Next time I will just fill and chill overnight and NO cooking. It's summer, no need to bake bc it doesn't use eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
It's a nice creamy pie and easy enough to make. I cooked for 30 min as another reviewer suggested and that was perfect. For my taste it there just wasn't enough lime kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
i wanted a simple key lime pie recipe to make quickly and saw this one. the pie had to bake for 30 minutes and really tasted like sweetened condensed milk. it also didn't hava a good lime flavor, there just wasn't enough. this pie was okay, but not anything i would make for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
My First time making a pie at all. Easy to follow instructions, and no intimidating ingredients. Nice sweet and tart balance. Next time, I'll get a zester, was a bit much to zest with my serrated knife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I tried a slight variation of this recipe and found that they worked really well as cupcakes, the batter was plenty stiff to hold up to the smaller individual serving size but I did think the flavor was a little lacking on the signature key lime tartness .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Once you put the custard in the pie shell you better cook for 30 minutes. Will not be set in 10 minutes. Been making this for 42 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
The BEST key lime pie recipe! I've never made it before - made it for my dad's birthday. The entire family loved it. Held it's form very well. Whipped cream was also the perfect amount of sweetness and cream! Love love love. Will never use another recipe again for key lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
my whole family loved this! i cheated because i used already-made graham crusts that were given to me by someone who bought them by accident, so i was trying to think of something to use with them. this fit the bill perfectly! since i love pecans, i chopped some and sprinkled them on the crust before browning in the oven. i was skeptical about the whipping cream on top, but it was delicious and i look forward to making this again! if i ever make the crust from scratch, i will add pecans throughout the mixture. a local restaurant here does that with their key lime pie and it's great. it gives the crust more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was my first attempt at key lime pie, and it was a hit with my husband. I rate this recipe 5 stars! On the topping, I used more powdered sugar than the 1/4 cup, enough to get the consistency I wanted. Also, I used fresh key lime juice, which I think made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I used 1/2 cup key lime juice and liked the sweet-tart balance better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamstwy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States