Classic Irish Boiled Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is how I've made my boiled dinner for years (even with my Irish background, I never cared for corned beef). However I don't add green beans and I always get a big smoked shoulder (arox 9 lbs). Remove any wrapping around the ham, put it into a pot (make sure it fits), put enough water into the pot to completly cover the ham, cover with lid. Bring to a good boil, and boil for one hour, turn it over in the pot, cover with lid and boil another hour. Remove the meat (keep the liquid), cover ham with foil and let it rest. Now put the potatoes, onions, carrotts, and cabbage (cabbage should be on top) also (if you like turnip you can add that too) into the liquid the meat was cooked in, this is where the flavor is, cook till veggies and potatoes are tender. PS if you need to you can add more water as you go, but only do this if it is needed. Also I don't add any salt there's enough salt in the smoked shoulder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I grew up on ham boiled dinners.The only thing better is to cut everything up and fry it for hash for leftovers,with a couple fried eggs on the side.Yummy!Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richardjs41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meddybemps, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I actually made this because I tried another kmommyz recipe and loved it...This is another great one!!! the green beans are nice change and the smoked shoulder isn't as stringy or tough as the corned beef...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is best made with a half ham. The first time I made it to these directions and it was VERY bland! I made it a second time with a half ham, and it was much, much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I grew up with this!! (Making it this weekend too.) This recipe is awesome. Our family added rutabaga in the pot too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Tastes just like the boiled dinner my grandfather used to make. Great comfort food and the leftovers taste even better. I did add some lemon pepper seasoning and other spices to the water. I chopped up all the leftovers and added them to the broth with some chilli pepper ~ mmmmm, delicous soup, all the kids loved it and my husband who does not like cooked cabbage had seconds!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I used to eat this all the time growing up. I could never find a recipe untill now. We always called it New England boiled dinner. When I look that up all I find is corn beef recipes. I just want to say as someone who grew up in New England we do not use corn beef-that dish is called corn beef and cabbage. Anyway thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
When I saw this cut of really cheap smoked meat in the market, I knew I had to do something with it. Thanks for the recipe, easy and delish. I just need to buy a bigger pot to fit it all in, a five liter pot does not cut it, is too small. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetricCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
i grew up eating boiled dinner...with ham. made it the same way, but cut up the ham, and added it along with ham stock to water, and veggies (no green beans) and let it cook. and ate it like a soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meljeanand

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fantastic!! What a rush of childhood memories of my grandmother's kitchen. The ONLY substitution I made was to use a Cottage Ham - a 'partially cooked' pork shoulder. To be totally true to my family version, the cottage ham or pork shoulder should contain gobs of fat. The fat adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States