Classic Irish Boiled Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
When I saw this cut of really cheap smoked meat in the market, I knew I had to do something with it. Thanks for the recipe, easy and delish. I just need to buy a bigger pot to fit it all in, a five liter pot does not cut it, is too small. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetricCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I just made this for dinner last week and my husband loved it. He's not even a meat person and he's requested we have it again this week. There wasn't even enough room in our pot for all of the vegitables, and it's a LARGE stew pot! I had to leave out the cabbage and some potatoes, but it was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I grew up with this!! (Making it this weekend too.) This recipe is awesome. Our family added rutabaga in the pot too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
i grew up eating boiled dinner...with ham. made it the same way, but cut up the ham, and added it along with ham stock to water, and veggies (no green beans) and let it cook. and ate it like a soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meljeanand

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I used to eat this all the time growing up. I could never find a recipe untill now. We always called it New England boiled dinner. When I look that up all I find is corn beef recipes. I just want to say as someone who grew up in New England we do not use corn beef-that dish is called corn beef and cabbage. Anyway thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I grew up on ham boiled dinners.The only thing better is to cut everything up and fry it for hash for leftovers,with a couple fried eggs on the side.Yummy!Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richardjs41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meddybemps, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Tastes just like the boiled dinner my grandfather used to make. Great comfort food and the leftovers taste even better. I did add some lemon pepper seasoning and other spices to the water. I chopped up all the leftovers and added them to the broth with some chilli pepper ~ mmmmm, delicous soup, all the kids loved it and my husband who does not like cooked cabbage had seconds!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I actually made this because I tried another kmommyz recipe and loved it...This is another great one!!! the green beans are nice change and the smoked shoulder isn't as stringy or tough as the corned beef...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States