Classic Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
If you're using salted butter DON'T add the 1 teaspoon of salt! WAAAAYYYY to salty this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
perfect, and easy. I'll never use Knorr packets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi McCreadie-Ramcharitar
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe!! Turned out EXACTLY the same as the Hollandaise I had on my Florentine Benedict at a restaurant last week!! Now I can make it at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Wayy too much salt & pepper!! I had to dbl the butter, yokes and lemon and it was still too salty. When I make this agian I will only use a pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper. That being said, it was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was good, I didn't use as much lemon but I think it was qujck easy guide lines to follow and I was able to get away with using country crock low cal butter spread. It still had thr right consistancy all in all pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
So so so good, I like a little more salt/pepper and lemon I'm made eggs benidict with it and I'm in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana M Quinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This sauce was super great. I made it this morning for my family. It brought back memories of my childhood when my mother would make it . Especially on cold winter mornings it would warm my tummy. Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe; although I didn't add the salt, it still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I always read the reviews before trying a recipe. But was in too much of a hurry tonight. It seized up immediately. I added 4 more egg yolks, more water and a tad more lemon. But it DID come back to life, just not like I'm used to. My other recipe requires you to mix the yolks and water, whisk until frothy, then add the salt, lemon juice and cayanne. Once that's done, add butter a tablespoon at a time. Even with the low stars, I was able to recoup it and save it, it just wasn't as light as I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Watanabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Yes, too salty. Also broke apart. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good basic recipe but could be improved. Made it today and it was pretty good but too salty. I would recommend starting with a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and substitute white pepper for black pepper. Also used unsalted butter which was noted by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States