Classic Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was good, I didn't use as much lemon but I think it was qujck easy guide lines to follow and I was able to get away with using country crock low cal butter spread. It still had thr right consistancy all in all pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
So so so good, I like a little more salt/pepper and lemon I'm made eggs benidict with it and I'm in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana M Quinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This sauce was super great. I made it this morning for my family. It brought back memories of my childhood when my mother would make it . Especially on cold winter mornings it would warm my tummy. Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe; although I didn't add the salt, it still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I always read the reviews before trying a recipe. But was in too much of a hurry tonight. It seized up immediately. I added 4 more egg yolks, more water and a tad more lemon. But it DID come back to life, just not like I'm used to. My other recipe requires you to mix the yolks and water, whisk until frothy, then add the salt, lemon juice and cayanne. Once that's done, add butter a tablespoon at a time. Even with the low stars, I was able to recoup it and save it, it just wasn't as light as I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Watanabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Yes, too salty. Also broke apart. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good basic recipe but could be improved. Made it today and it was pretty good but too salty. I would recommend starting with a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and substitute white pepper for black pepper. Also used unsalted butter which was noted by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this many times and it turns out perfectly every time! I didn't have unsalted butter so did not add salt to the recipe. Other than that, I don't know what the complaints are about. I find this recipe much easier and faster than others recipes and no double boiler! My daughter even said I didn't make a big deal out of it while cooking it; I knew it would turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Way too much salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Don't waste the ingredients. Way too much salt. Inherently broken. Good Hollandaise is made by adding butter to eggs, not eggs to butter. Whoever likes this must eat at McDonalds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was awful. I should have trusted my gut on the amount of salt and pepper. It also curdled up on me... I have made this sauce several times a year and have never had this experience before. I just came online to get some quick measurements. It would have been a better experience iff I just eye-balled it. Those that had a good experience, hey glad to hear it, but I just can't see how it was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States