Classic Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I always read the reviews before trying a recipe. But was in too much of a hurry tonight. It seized up immediately. I added 4 more egg yolks, more water and a tad more lemon. But it DID come back to life, just not like I'm used to. My other recipe requires you to mix the yolks and water, whisk until frothy, then add the salt, lemon juice and cayanne. Once that's done, add butter a tablespoon at a time. Even with the low stars, I was able to recoup it and save it, it just wasn't as light as I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Watanabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Yes, too salty. Also broke apart. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good basic recipe but could be improved. Made it today and it was pretty good but too salty. I would recommend starting with a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and substitute white pepper for black pepper. Also used unsalted butter which was noted by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this many times and it turns out perfectly every time! I didn't have unsalted butter so did not add salt to the recipe. Other than that, I don't know what the complaints are about. I find this recipe much easier and faster than others recipes and no double boiler! My daughter even said I didn't make a big deal out of it while cooking it; I knew it would turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Way too much salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Don't waste the ingredients. Way too much salt. Inherently broken. Good Hollandaise is made by adding butter to eggs, not eggs to butter. Whoever likes this must eat at McDonalds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was awful. I should have trusted my gut on the amount of salt and pepper. It also curdled up on me... I have made this sauce several times a year and have never had this experience before. I just came online to get some quick measurements. It would have been a better experience iff I just eye-balled it. Those that had a good experience, hey glad to hear it, but I just can't see how it was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used lemon juice from a bottle, though none of these reviews gave a sense of how much, so I started light with 1 TSP. Made the recipe and watched it break apart as I took it off the heat. Tasted it and it was not very lemony so took the bottle back out of the fridge and put another 2 to 3 TSP of lemon juice in and as I stirred the sauce came together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Love it, recipe very easy to follow, it taste amazing thank you for sharing??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Went pretty good. I didn't have a whisk however even though it broke apart I was able to beat it back together with rapid stirs of my spoon. I did have to tweak the end result a little to my taste but I a, satisfied with the results and look forward to trying it again with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States