Classic Holiday Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Make sure the eggs are THOROUGHLY beaten before adding to any milk. I use a small food processor/food chopper. And I eat them to a light yellow color so all the white is well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was a super simple recipe. The egg nog came out tasting very good. I had to improvise slightly. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and almond milk in stead of whole milk. I will also add a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe. But me and my wife like to add a fifth of Traveler's Club vodka to the batch. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a terrific and simple base recipe! A big thanks to the poster. I made eggnog a long time ago from another recipe and hated it. I went back to the store bought stuff until today. It's Particularly nice if you don't want to make a lot. I did modify it some. I used 1/2 whipping cream and 1/2 milk because I wanted it to be creamy. I added cloves and nutmeg to taste (for me that ended up being 1 1/2 t nutmeg and 1 t cloves. I also increased the vanilla. I increase the vanilla on any recipe I try that contains it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
As others have said, this is a simple basic recipe, but made it because store-bought is so full of sugar. Threw everything in a blender. I substituted 2 Cups of whipping cream for 2 cups of the quart of milk, used twice the vanilla, and added a teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves. I also used regular unsweetened lowfat canned milk and added 1/4 Cup Splenda. I also used pasturized liquid eggs (Egg Beaters) instead of eggs for safety. Yummy nog and can be easily spiked, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I missed out this year on traditional store-bought dairy Egg Nog, which I love without the alcohol – Thank you! So, I thought I would give this recipe a try, due to its simplicity. Like all, I did make modifications to suit my needs. I deleted the salt from the recipe as I try to hold down sodium content in my food. Also, for even more simplicity, I substituted ½ cup of Original Egg Beaters for the eggs. I was very happy with the result. It was very fresh and very cold and now I can have "egg nog" whenever I want. You can add salt, nutmeg and booze to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is very yummy! The one to use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Retains too much of the sweetened condensed milk's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was very good and simple. My family loves egg nog, but I have always been a bit scared to make it. It definately needed a bit of nutmeg to get the traditional taste, but was a very good starter. I made two seperate batches one for the kids, and one with a bit of "cheer" for the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States