Classic Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
the rinse and squeeze did for mine, first ones that didn't look like something the dog would politely push away!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe....never made homemade hash browns beforeand this will NOW be my go to recipe...I trust ever recipe that Chef John has put up...thanks John for such a great and oh so easy recipe. The only thing that I changed is that I only seasoned with kosher salt & white pepper and chopped green onions, as that is what I had on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Super tasty! Just like I get at my favorite diner down the street. I usually stick to frozen hash browns at home but I had a couple of extra potatoes on hand and wanted to try my hand at these. They were much easier to make than I would have thought, and the taste was definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I've tried this and I have a BIG problem. I like them crisped again and again breaking them up, like you did, and re-crisping yet another (and another) layer. To do this I start with two pans full and eventually combine them. I can have the soft stuff in mashed. Actually, couldn't you make a nice fluffy pot of mash at the same time? Love your stuff Chef John. Followed you for a long time. Keep it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bontwobon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this recipe and the only thing I did different was I layed the shredded potatoes long ways in a clean dish towel and twisted it at both ends to get all of the water out.it helps if you have someone at the other end of the towel this way you can twist it a little more.I have been cooking since I was 7 years and at 13 I worked in a cafe on the Redondo Beach Ca. pier.That was 55 years ago and I still love to cook for everyone. Roy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I've made these for years only (and I know not the healthiest but very good) is to use some of the drippings from bacon. I like mine to be browned on the outside and a soft center. I'll make one large potato cake or 4 smaller ones. If the large one I'll let it get crispy brown and then flip it over or if too large, cut it into 4 sections. Let them get crispy on the other side & put them on a paper towel to drain when done. Sometimes if making them for dinner, I'll also add chopped onions into the raw potatoes before cooking. I salt & pepper before turning them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Another great recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is really a fab hash brown, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Sweeting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I had tried it plain before, but this past weekend I added diced ham, onion, and cheese with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Yum, I just made these not long ago and this is now one of my favourite recipes for hash browns, not overly complicated or finicky to cook. I couldn't be bothered clarifying my butter first, I just made sure to be careful so it wouldn't burn. I used some nice red skinned potatoes so I kept the skin on because I like it. The only problem I had was I picked a rather old and worn non-stick pan to cook them in so the potato stuck like no tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States