Classic Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I had never do homemade hash brown cause I thought it was imposible. I tried this recipe and so easy and tasty. It's better than the frozen ones. And my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Great recipe, worth watching video!! PATIENCE and that goes especially for those who make MORE than the recipe originally is intended for. We have a family of 6 and I made it with 7 yellow potatoes since that was all I had and they are a bit smaller than russets, so I just went with that. It was time consuming for me due to that, but if it were just my hubby and I , then it would have been a lot faster. Clarifying the butter is a great idea, I will continue to use that method, and add enough salt, potatoes do require more salt at times than expected, I did add enough, and the spicy addition of the cayenne is good. Maybe a little garlic or onion powder would be a nice addition, but not fresh, or it may add too much liquid to the recipe(??), not sure though. It is delicious just the way it is! REALLY Let it stick to the pan though, and I mean it when I say that, really do it. I had my electric burner on 5 (med heat) and it was just right for me, left it for a few minutes while stirring the potatoes on top of the crusting potatoes as they softened up and it was just right, if it is cooking too fast, just turn it down a notch, I also used a stainless pan, would have preferred a cast iron or stick free, but it came out clean in the end, and NOT BURNED as I had worried. My hubby kept saying I was going to burn them, he even grabbed the spatula and said he was going to "hack at them" and I scolded him (ha ha!), took it away, kicked him out of the kitchen and they were phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Very simple and tasty. Quick to make and you can use any potatoes you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Super easy and tasty! I think the cayenne & paprika are optional. They tasted great with just salt & pepper. I didn't shred mine. Instead, I diced them up real small. They took longer though. (About 30-35 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Excellent! As per one review, I used my salad spinner for rinsing and drying the potatoes. Worked great, and the hash downs were seasoned just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Never even thought to attemp hash browns but these were delicious I tested it out before making for family. One small potato a tsp of light can't believe it's not butter and salt and pepper it was amazing!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
After viewing the video I couldn't wait to try these. I am an admitted lousy breakfast cook, but still I try. Well today I made these hash browns with bacon & eggs, and man-o-man, my dear husband loved these. He remarked several times how good they were. Loved the tip about putting in water and rinsing and patting dry. These are things I have never done with my potatoes. I will be having these again. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
instead of adding salt, cayenne, salt and paprika I added salt and butter after I was done cooking and it was amazing and mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
A great classic dish - delicious! I made more potatoes than what the recipe called for, but increased the other ingredients proportionately. I used a LOT of potatoes, but they really do shrink up when you cook them, so I could have made even more than I did, I will have to remember that for next time. Like other reviewers have pointed out, the cooking time is definitely longer than listed here, but that could partially be because I used more potatoes. Basically, just keep cooking until they get to the crispiness you like... and the seasonings can really be adjusted to personal taste too, this is a great recipe, you really can't mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States