Classic Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Lovely, lovely, lovely. Reminds me sooooo much of Sunshine Potato Stixx. Only used Salt and ground Black Pepper (not freshly ground - store bought package) to season. Hubby and Son did enjoy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Something you can do to avoid the undercooked potatoes problem is to bake them beforehand, but only about half the time you would normally cook them for. It makes the insides softer and the outsides crunchier. But this recipe was spot on! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmm...Potatoes!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was fine but needed a bit more flavor. I think some minced onion would be a great addition next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Love this recipe! I lost my grater during renovations, so I hand cut all the potatoes (which takes forever) but it still turned out perfect. I add a little onion, and cook a little longer because I like my hashbrowns a little on the crunchy side. Turns out perfect every time! Thanks chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Very good, I added onions and peppers too! Be patient when frying it, it took a while to get them crispy, I thought I did something wrong but they turned out perfect. My husband (the usual hash brown maker) said he has never been able to do hash browns like this good. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I let the potatoes cook longer than the recipe states, as I like crispy hashbrowns. I no longer need to buy frozen hash browns from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Ahh... Thats the key! Cold water rinse to get the excess starch out. I put my shreded potatos into a large doubled over cup towel, fold it up and then ring it out like a washcloth. Makes 'em nice and dry then just bag it and pop it into the freezer for that next quick impulse meal. Also I do not peel the skins. Nice and rustic. Thanks for the insight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Finally! I've been successful in making great hash browns from fresh potatoes! The first secret was grating the potatoes into the cold water and then rinsing them repeatedly to remove the excess starch. Then drying the shredded potatoes was extremely valuable. Lastly, the cooking technique described by Chef John in the video produced outstanding results. I had made enough to have leftovers for the next day, but my husband snarfed down the entire amount, leaving nothing!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdaCooks
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Instead of butter I used Coconut oil, they were great, my kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I tried this the way it was printed but found we like it better with the salt and pepper mixed in rather than sprinkled on top. Also I always grate an onion into it. I make a huge pan of these and cook them just until a little brown and hot all the way through but not real brown. then I cut it into 6 to 8 pieces and wrap in foil and slide them into a storage bag. That way I have some made ahead and can save time by just getting one out of the fridge every morning and browning it in butter or bacon grease. My husband eats them every day so there is no spoilage. We use them up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States