Classic Hamburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I hate when people change the recipe and then rate it but that's exactly what I'm going to do because I was i a rush and had to use what I had on hand. I kept the sauce part the same except I added about half a can of cream of mushroom soup because I didn't have another can of tomato soup and needed to make the meal go farther. Then I used cheesy instant potatoes because again I was crunched for time and that's what I had on hand. This still turned out super good. It isn't exactly pretty to look at but it's just awesome comfort food. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good. We know this as shepherds pie. This was the very first thing I ever made for my husband back twenty something years ago. The rest of the family enjoys it as well. The only thing I do different is use corn in place of green beans because that's what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It's very good. I use mixed frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anita6
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I know everyone hates when people change the recipes; but it was sooo good! ok so I used instant loaded potatoes (2 packages) added sour cream, butter, cheese, & 1/2 cup crushed up frenchs fried onion strings the mashed potatoes (just like if you were going to eat it by itself) didn't use any kind of veggie in it. I also used chucky tomato basil soup (another time I used regular tomato soup but added a can of diced tomatoes and some basil). we like spices so I added zesty seasoning (kroger brand) about 1-2 tablespoons while I simmered the meat and onions. followed all the other directions, but added 1 cup of cheese on top and sprinkled about 1/2 cup of semi crushed fried onion strings. I only cooked it for 15 mins and it was sooo yummy!! this is such a basic recipe you can change so much to fit your tastes. ive included a pic of what it looked like done. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Easy and really good. Comfort food on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Brindley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Best thing ever! I've made this weekly since discovering it!! I made it a little easier by using Betty Crocker brand "Loaded Mashed" instant potatoes. It was a 5 star recipe prior to that though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My Family absolutely loved this recipe :) My husband and son had two servings! Thank you so much for sharing it with us! I will definitely make it again :) I loved the way the tomato soup made the meat a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
quick easy great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I made this last night and my family really enjoyed it. There's no left overs! The mashed potatoes were really moist and held well with the egg as a binder when it was baking. I did not add the tomato soup or any other soups but I did add a can of sweet whole kernel corn with no liquid. A keeper for my recipe book for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Jacobs-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I made it with the mushroom soup and corn variant that others mentioned. Threw in some extra chopped mushrooms. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States