Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Definately, definately cut down on the oil. i had to drain the oil out half way through and there was still alot of oil left. a 1/4 cup would be enough. As for the taste...it tasted better the next day but still it wasn't "oh so awesome". It was good, not great. As a side it was way too much for my family of five. i'll probably make this again but it's not something i would make too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was DELICIOUS. What more need I say? FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This Dish Is Amazing!!! I Was In A Last Minute Situation And Had To Cook For My Fiancee's Business Partner.I Made This As A Side Dish, It Was Quick,Easy And DELICIOUS!!! My Fiancee And His Business Partner Could Not Stop Raving, They Ate ALL Of it. I Should Have Made It The Main Course. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
AWESOME, FORMIDABLE, AMAZING!!!!!!! It's great. I used only a few teaspoons of olive oil and only 2 cups of water. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This is amazingly, incredibly wonderful and inexpensive. The only changes I made were reducing the olive oil to 1/4 cup and using veggie bouillion instead of beef. Coupled with eggplant patties and tzatziki, you simply can't go wrong. Or make it a meal in itself. I honestly think I could eat this Greek Spinach recipe every day for the rest of my life and be happy. It is just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Excellent taste. Next time I would use only 3/4 cup of oil. Feta cheese and lemon juice added to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
My husband loved this. I took advise from others and cut out some of the oil and added more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
EXCELLENT--I have made it many times, and it is surprisingly filling AND of course tasty. Didn't have to change a thing! I love making it a main course and sitting down with some flatbread and hummus and going to town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
As I was making this recipe, I was pouring the olive oil into the measuring cup and as I got to a half cup I thought, "oy, that's a lot" - so I only used 1/2 cup of oil (which was still too much for me, I am gonna do 1/4 cup next time). I followed the rest of the recipe and when I got to the rice it seemed like a little, so I used a cup (which seemed to make the perfect amount for me and my family). When I first served it, we all looked at it like "ew...." I was not excited about the prospect of tasting it, however, after we all tasted it, we realized that it was actually pretty good!! So for me, I think using 1/4 cup of oil (possibly even less) and 2 cups of rice is what will work for me. I think we will make this recipe again... I did have to modify it though, I think it's way too oily as is (them greeks and their olive oil!!) Worth trying out!!! :) Oh and we got a laugh when my hubby (who hates tomatoes) said "I think it needs more tomatoes" heh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I substituted 1 small can tomato sauce, for the tomato paste and used less water. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States