Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My boyfriend and I are not spinach lovers so we weren't expecting much from this dish, but we were pleasantly surprised. Following the advice of others, I cut way down on the oil (I only used about a tablespoon), but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I must say that it tastes better than it looks, but not that much better. We thought this was pretty bland, but the healthiness made up for the lack of taste. Any way to get us to eat our dark leafy greens is ok by me. Overall, I gave this four stars and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This spinach dish is awesome! It is delicious and I love serving it as a side dish. Many times a side dish is more of an afterthought, but this one is a highlight of the meal. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I am still trying to adjust the liquid content. When I follow the recipe, many times the rice doesn't soak up all the water, so I use less now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
my husband is greek,im russian..im learning to cook greek!i love this reciepe and its a great side dish with lamb chops!!!we loved it,,i will pass it along for sure,,opa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! The only changes I made are 1/4 cup of oil and canned tomatoes when I don't have fresh. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was OK.............but won't be making again. I cut the oil in half and would recommend cutting back even more, maybe to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
My husband and I like finding recipes that make spinach taste good. This is a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I liked the flavor of this, but it was extremely oily. My husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
So good! I served with feta cheese and my family went nuts over it! It was easy to make. I also reduced the oil to a couple of tablespoons to make it more lowfat. Also, instead of messing with beef bullion (did I spell that right?) I just used beef broth in place of the water. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I thought this was a 5-star recipe, my husband, thought it was so-so, and my 2-year old spat it out. What can I say? Sometimes you can't please everybody. So I gave it the average of our 3 opinions, and gave it 3 stars. But seriously, I ate all of it that was left over a couple hours after dinner was over. I thought it was that tasty. I would say that even though I cut the oil down to 1/2 cup, it could probably have been done with 1/4, if you use a really fruity tasting olive oil. Anyway, I thought it was great, so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Sorry but we did not like this one bit - but don't be misled by our rating. Maybe we just plain don't like Greek dishes. This recipe was a bit of an experiment for us. Following other reviews I too cut the oil down - used about 1/3C, which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States