Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Wouldn't you know, the very first time I don't read other reviews, I pay dearly and publicly! I made this for a dinner party and followed the recipe exactly. It was AWFUL--bland, too watery (even after cooking with the lid off for about 30 minutes), too oily. Thanks to some creativity by my boyfriend, it was salvageable and not too embarassing, but it took a LOT of tweaking. Here's our recommendations/rescue methods: 1) cut the oil WAY down, 2) we ended up adding another 1/3 cup of rice because it was too liquid, 3) we then added another tablespoon of tomato paste and a can of diced tomatoes (we were running out of time!), 4) While cooking the orignal version and being able to see it was going to be quite bland, I had already added fresh oregano and winter savory. In the rush-to-finish, we added about a tablespoon of dried oregano, a teaspoon of thyme, and lots and lots of salt and pepper, 5) Even after all that, we still had to dip it into the serving bowl with a slotted spoon, and when we got to the party, there was a layer of oil resting atop the mush. But, the guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We have made this twice in a week. On the second try we cut the oil by half and it was just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Excellent. Tasted heavenly. Oil required is indeed quite less but the overall recipe is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used fresh spinach and brown rice. Since brown rice takes longer to cook, I added it with the first batch of water and added water as needed durring cooking. I also reduced the olive oil to about a tablespoon as per suggestion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Very good - excellent flavor. I read the reviews before making and am glad I reduced oil down to 1/4 cup. It would have been waaayyy too oily with a whole cup. In fact, next time, I will probably only use about a tablespoon, as it was still a little bit oily for my taste. Otherwise, a wonderful recipe. Will definitely use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I'm not real fond of spinach but I loved this recipe and my husband has seconds. I only used a tablespoon or so of oil (just enough to brown the onion) I just couldn't fathom using a cup! This is quick, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I wish I would have read the other reviews before making this, because it was way too oily. 1/3 cup of oil would have been plenty. The basic flavor was good, but I kept drying to strain the oil out and ended up throwing away the leftovers. I'll try again with much less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
My family thought this was great. I took others advice and cut down on the oil. I had cooked rice left from the night before and I used it and only added a cup of water. This cut down on the cooking time and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
great with tzatziki,...my husband went for thirds....another 5 star recipe from allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Terrific low-fat dish if you hold back on the olive oil--you only need 1/4 cup at the most. I followed the directions with the following exceptions: used fresh spinach and 1 large onion; I used 2 CUPS Minute Rice for step #3(let it simmer, covered, for 5-10 minutes and it was perfect); I also added some parmesean cheese, red pepper flakes, and seasoned salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States