Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is a delicious recipe, typical of Greek cuisine. For those who are concerned about their olive oil intake, please note that 'oil' dishes, are they are called in Greece, are served on days when no meat is served, traditionally on Wednesdays and Fridays: this dish would be the main dish, sometimes served with feta cheese for those who are not lenting. For those who are using it as a side dish, by all means cut back on the amount of oil to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was good. My husband and I enjoyed it with a souvlaki recipe from this site. The only changes we made was that we added some mushrooms along with the tomatoes. I would give it a five but I found it to be a bit too mushy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This is an incredible way to enjoy spinach! I didn't have any beef boilen but it still was great! I used a lot of lemon juice and my boyfriend loved this dish! YUMMY will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
More work than your average side dish, but it's worth it. My husband and I really liked it, the kids not so much. It tastes better than it looks, and it's a good change of pace. I cut back to 1/4 cup oil, and would use even less next time, also used 2 cloves of garlic, and 1 onion. The lemon and feta are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
With all of the onions, spinach, and tomatoes, it didn't seem like there would be room for rice in the pot. But it did fit and it was wonderful. I decreased the amount of oil to 1/4 cup as others suggested and I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. Definitely add the lemon and feta at the end--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This dish was okay, not great just okay. Not dynamite but I think the effort/time far outweighed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I used the Minute Rice as someone else suggested becuase I've made similar with regular rice and some of the grains came out hard. Definately only need 1/4 cup of oil - HEAVENLY with lemon and feta! I used 3 tblspoons tomato sauce instead of paste since I didn't have paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was excellent! MUST top with lemon juice and feta cheese. It would be very bland without. I only used one onion & about 1/8 c oil, and I also threw in some fresh spinach that I had in my fridge. Instead of long-grain rice, I put one cup of instant brown rice in with the last cup of water. Simmered for ten minutes (uncovered) and let rest for five minutes. My husband and I LOVED this! Served with grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
As the author suggests, serve with fresh lemon juice and feta! 1/4 c of olive oil max! Step 2 takes 30 mins to reduce to half the liquid. I had to uncover at the end and cook on med high for 10mins to let the rest of the liquid cook out. It was tasty and had a nice flavor punch. Not vegetarian because of the bouillon, so I'll try with vegetable bouillon next time to compare the flavor. I liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Wouldn't you know, the very first time I don't read other reviews, I pay dearly and publicly! I made this for a dinner party and followed the recipe exactly. It was AWFUL--bland, too watery (even after cooking with the lid off for about 30 minutes), too oily. Thanks to some creativity by my boyfriend, it was salvageable and not too embarassing, but it took a LOT of tweaking. Here's our recommendations/rescue methods: 1) cut the oil WAY down, 2) we ended up adding another 1/3 cup of rice because it was too liquid, 3) we then added another tablespoon of tomato paste and a can of diced tomatoes (we were running out of time!), 4) While cooking the orignal version and being able to see it was going to be quite bland, I had already added fresh oregano and winter savory. In the rush-to-finish, we added about a tablespoon of dried oregano, a teaspoon of thyme, and lots and lots of salt and pepper, 5) Even after all that, we still had to dip it into the serving bowl with a slotted spoon, and when we got to the party, there was a layer of oil resting atop the mush. But, the guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States