Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is a wonderful blend of flavors! It does NOT fit in a medium saucepan, however... I did cut the oil in half. The only other change I made was to use instant brown rice, because I was in a hurry. Turned out a bit soupy, so I wonder if next time I could skip the last cup of water...otherwise this recipe turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Nicole G
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this tonight for some friends that were coming for dinner. It was DELISH!! I read the other reviews and only used 1/2 cup olive oil and 2 cups of rice and it came out great! It takes a while to prepare (I prefer quick dishes) but the outcome made the whole process worth it! I will definitely being making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was awesome! Very yummy, and I'm not a big spinach eater. I'm single, so I cut all of the ingredients by half. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent...didn't have tomatoes so left them out! Wonderful flavor and hubby loved it....the cat did too! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Reduced the olive oil significantly, to about 1/3 c. Omitted salt and sprinkled Feta cheese crumbles on top. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
we make something similar (I am middle eastern). However, we use lemon (about 1/8 cup) and meat, but don't use onions or garlic. also we cook the rice separate. I didn't miss the meat but didn't love the onions/garlic. It was also a tiny bit thicker than I like. Next time I will use 3 1/2 - 4 cups of water and 1/2 can of tomato paste. I used a whole bag of fresh spinach and only enough oil to sautee the onions- so I'll skip that completely next time. used 1/2 of a large chicken bouillon. can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was one of the very first recipes I saved when I joined allrecipes. I LOVE this dish! I cut the oil down to 1/2 cup, added more garlic and a container of feta cheese. I serve with hot french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good, inexpensive to make, and tasty. I, like many here, went with a 1/4" of olive oil. I also used two can of spicy tomatoes instead of chopping my own. This makes plenty, and I have some I froze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I loved it, but made a few changes. I made it like this: (1) Saute onion in 1-2 tbsp olive oil then add garlic for another 1-2min (2) add spinach and tomatoes for 5 min (3) start brown rice in another pot: bring 1 cup rice to boil w/ 1 cup chicken broth + 1 cup water, then simmer (3) add 2 cups chicken broth with salt, pepper, and tomato paste - boil, then simmer for 15min (4) add rice and remaining liquid, boil, then simmer until rice is done, (5) add 1 tbsp lemon juice at the end. I let it sit for a while on low heat, then stove off, before we ate, which soaked up more liquid - Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I followed a lot of the suggestions of other reviewers (less olive oil, more rice, add spices, red pepper, parmesan, etc.) and it was excellent! My daughter loves rice so what a wonderful way to sneak in spinach with rice! I had some fresh mushrooms in the fridge so I sliced a few up and sauteed them with the onions. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States