Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
OOOOhhhh, soooo good!! My husband says this is the best new dish we've tried in a very long time! Read the reviews. Decreased olive oil to about 3 tbls. Used 1 red onion. Reduced water to 2 cups. Increased garlic dramatically (our preference!), skipped tomato paste and used small can tomato sauce. Used chicken bouillon. Increased rice to 1 cup. This was so easy, and yet it was restaurant quality. The addition of feta cheese put it over-the-top delicious! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is a wonderful blend of flavors! It does NOT fit in a medium saucepan, however... I did cut the oil in half. The only other change I made was to use instant brown rice, because I was in a hurry. Turned out a bit soupy, so I wonder if next time I could skip the last cup of water...otherwise this recipe turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Nicole G
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this tonight for some friends that were coming for dinner. It was DELISH!! I read the other reviews and only used 1/2 cup olive oil and 2 cups of rice and it came out great! It takes a while to prepare (I prefer quick dishes) but the outcome made the whole process worth it! I will definitely being making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was awesome! Very yummy, and I'm not a big spinach eater. I'm single, so I cut all of the ingredients by half. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent...didn't have tomatoes so left them out! Wonderful flavor and hubby loved it....the cat did too! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Reduced the olive oil significantly, to about 1/3 c. Omitted salt and sprinkled Feta cheese crumbles on top. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
we make something similar (I am middle eastern). However, we use lemon (about 1/8 cup) and meat, but don't use onions or garlic. also we cook the rice separate. I didn't miss the meat but didn't love the onions/garlic. It was also a tiny bit thicker than I like. Next time I will use 3 1/2 - 4 cups of water and 1/2 can of tomato paste. I used a whole bag of fresh spinach and only enough oil to sautee the onions- so I'll skip that completely next time. used 1/2 of a large chicken bouillon. can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was one of the very first recipes I saved when I joined allrecipes. I LOVE this dish! I cut the oil down to 1/2 cup, added more garlic and a container of feta cheese. I serve with hot french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good, inexpensive to make, and tasty. I, like many here, went with a 1/4" of olive oil. I also used two can of spicy tomatoes instead of chopping my own. This makes plenty, and I have some I froze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I loved it, but made a few changes. I made it like this: (1) Saute onion in 1-2 tbsp olive oil then add garlic for another 1-2min (2) add spinach and tomatoes for 5 min (3) start brown rice in another pot: bring 1 cup rice to boil w/ 1 cup chicken broth + 1 cup water, then simmer (3) add 2 cups chicken broth with salt, pepper, and tomato paste - boil, then simmer for 15min (4) add rice and remaining liquid, boil, then simmer until rice is done, (5) add 1 tbsp lemon juice at the end. I let it sit for a while on low heat, then stove off, before we ate, which soaked up more liquid - Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States