Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
As I was making this recipe, I was pouring the olive oil into the measuring cup and as I got to a half cup I thought, "oy, that's a lot" - so I only used 1/2 cup of oil (which was still too much for me, I am gonna do 1/4 cup next time). I followed the rest of the recipe and when I got to the rice it seemed like a little, so I used a cup (which seemed to make the perfect amount for me and my family). When I first served it, we all looked at it like "ew...." I was not excited about the prospect of tasting it, however, after we all tasted it, we realized that it was actually pretty good!! So for me, I think using 1/4 cup of oil (possibly even less) and 2 cups of rice is what will work for me. I think we will make this recipe again... I did have to modify it though, I think it's way too oily as is (them greeks and their olive oil!!) Worth trying out!!! :) Oh and we got a laugh when my hubby (who hates tomatoes) said "I think it needs more tomatoes" heh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Terrific low-fat dish if you hold back on the olive oil--you only need 1/4 cup at the most. I followed the directions with the following exceptions: used fresh spinach and 1 large onion; I used 2 CUPS Minute Rice for step #3(let it simmer, covered, for 5-10 minutes and it was perfect); I also added some parmesean cheese, red pepper flakes, and seasoned salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
We love this as a main dish! I make a few changes to suit my taste. Only 2 T olive oil, extra garlic and fresh spinach. After reducing the liquid in step two I do not add any more water, just pour the rice right in. I put in a whole cup of rice instead of just half. This is wonderful with feta cheese. Next time will try with lemon too. Served with homemade pita chips and hummus. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is a delicious recipe, typical of Greek cuisine. For those who are concerned about their olive oil intake, please note that 'oil' dishes, are they are called in Greece, are served on days when no meat is served, traditionally on Wednesdays and Fridays: this dish would be the main dish, sometimes served with feta cheese for those who are not lenting. For those who are using it as a side dish, by all means cut back on the amount of oil to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I think I may be missing something here on the recipe. I like the ingredients- but 1 cup of olive oil seemed to be a bit much. It turned into an oily mess. The principle seemed great- and it sounds like it worked for all the other reviewers- but for me- it was a big thanksgiving miss- but at least full of laughs. I would try it again- but with a lot less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good! I used chicken stock instead of water, and chicken bouillon instead of beef. I also added 1 tsp each of oregano, thyme and basil. A real hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This is amazingly, incredibly wonderful and inexpensive. The only changes I made were reducing the olive oil to 1/4 cup and using veggie bouillion instead of beef. Coupled with eggplant patties and tzatziki, you simply can't go wrong. Or make it a meal in itself. I honestly think I could eat this Greek Spinach recipe every day for the rest of my life and be happy. It is just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Wouldn't you know, the very first time I don't read other reviews, I pay dearly and publicly! I made this for a dinner party and followed the recipe exactly. It was AWFUL--bland, too watery (even after cooking with the lid off for about 30 minutes), too oily. Thanks to some creativity by my boyfriend, it was salvageable and not too embarassing, but it took a LOT of tweaking. Here's our recommendations/rescue methods: 1) cut the oil WAY down, 2) we ended up adding another 1/3 cup of rice because it was too liquid, 3) we then added another tablespoon of tomato paste and a can of diced tomatoes (we were running out of time!), 4) While cooking the orignal version and being able to see it was going to be quite bland, I had already added fresh oregano and winter savory. In the rush-to-finish, we added about a tablespoon of dried oregano, a teaspoon of thyme, and lots and lots of salt and pepper, 5) Even after all that, we still had to dip it into the serving bowl with a slotted spoon, and when we got to the party, there was a layer of oil resting atop the mush. But, the guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
dis were wicked man.......... but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
we make something similar (I am middle eastern). However, we use lemon (about 1/8 cup) and meat, but don't use onions or garlic. also we cook the rice separate. I didn't miss the meat but didn't love the onions/garlic. It was also a tiny bit thicker than I like. Next time I will use 3 1/2 - 4 cups of water and 1/2 can of tomato paste. I used a whole bag of fresh spinach and only enough oil to sautee the onions- so I'll skip that completely next time. used 1/2 of a large chicken bouillon. can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States