Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This spinach dish is awesome! It is delicious and I love serving it as a side dish. Many times a side dish is more of an afterthought, but this one is a highlight of the meal. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I am still trying to adjust the liquid content. When I follow the recipe, many times the rice doesn't soak up all the water, so I use less now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
my husband is greek,im russian..im learning to cook greek!i love this reciepe and its a great side dish with lamb chops!!!we loved it,,i will pass it along for sure,,opa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! The only changes I made are 1/4 cup of oil and canned tomatoes when I don't have fresh. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was OK.............but won't be making again. I cut the oil in half and would recommend cutting back even more, maybe to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
My husband and I like finding recipes that make spinach taste good. This is a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I liked the flavor of this, but it was extremely oily. My husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
So good! I served with feta cheese and my family went nuts over it! It was easy to make. I also reduced the oil to a couple of tablespoons to make it more lowfat. Also, instead of messing with beef bullion (did I spell that right?) I just used beef broth in place of the water. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I thought this was a 5-star recipe, my husband, thought it was so-so, and my 2-year old spat it out. What can I say? Sometimes you can't please everybody. So I gave it the average of our 3 opinions, and gave it 3 stars. But seriously, I ate all of it that was left over a couple hours after dinner was over. I thought it was that tasty. I would say that even though I cut the oil down to 1/2 cup, it could probably have been done with 1/4, if you use a really fruity tasting olive oil. Anyway, I thought it was great, so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Sorry but we did not like this one bit - but don't be misled by our rating. Maybe we just plain don't like Greek dishes. This recipe was a bit of an experiment for us. Following other reviews I too cut the oil down - used about 1/3C, which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Definately, definately cut down on the oil. i had to drain the oil out half way through and there was still alot of oil left. a 1/4 cup would be enough. As for the taste...it tasted better the next day but still it wasn't "oh so awesome". It was good, not great. As a side it was way too much for my family of five. i'll probably make this again but it's not something i would make too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States