Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We have made this twice in a week. On the second try we cut the oil by half and it was just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Excellent. Tasted heavenly. Oil required is indeed quite less but the overall recipe is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used fresh spinach and brown rice. Since brown rice takes longer to cook, I added it with the first batch of water and added water as needed durring cooking. I also reduced the olive oil to about a tablespoon as per suggestion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Very good - excellent flavor. I read the reviews before making and am glad I reduced oil down to 1/4 cup. It would have been waaayyy too oily with a whole cup. In fact, next time, I will probably only use about a tablespoon, as it was still a little bit oily for my taste. Otherwise, a wonderful recipe. Will definitely use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I'm not real fond of spinach but I loved this recipe and my husband has seconds. I only used a tablespoon or so of oil (just enough to brown the onion) I just couldn't fathom using a cup! This is quick, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I wish I would have read the other reviews before making this, because it was way too oily. 1/3 cup of oil would have been plenty. The basic flavor was good, but I kept drying to strain the oil out and ended up throwing away the leftovers. I'll try again with much less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
My family thought this was great. I took others advice and cut down on the oil. I had cooked rice left from the night before and I used it and only added a cup of water. This cut down on the cooking time and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
great with tzatziki,...my husband went for thirds....another 5 star recipe from allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Terrific low-fat dish if you hold back on the olive oil--you only need 1/4 cup at the most. I followed the directions with the following exceptions: used fresh spinach and 1 large onion; I used 2 CUPS Minute Rice for step #3(let it simmer, covered, for 5-10 minutes and it was perfect); I also added some parmesean cheese, red pepper flakes, and seasoned salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My boyfriend and I are not spinach lovers so we weren't expecting much from this dish, but we were pleasantly surprised. Following the advice of others, I cut way down on the oil (I only used about a tablespoon), but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I must say that it tastes better than it looks, but not that much better. We thought this was pretty bland, but the healthiness made up for the lack of taste. Any way to get us to eat our dark leafy greens is ok by me. Overall, I gave this four stars and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States