Classic Greek Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was pretty good. I did reduce the oil by half, because I served this as a side dish with meat. I enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmhunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I really liked this dish. Thank you for sharing it! To make it more of a meal by itself, I added ground lamb, just browned it up along with the onions (in just a healthy drizzle of olive oil for the pan). Served with a good squeeze of fresh lemon juice and crumbled feta on top, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Used 1/4 cup of EVOO and upped the rice to a cup. Should have cut back on the water and used only 1/2 cup of the rice. There was just too much rice for me. Hubby wouldn't try it and while I found the flavor good...would have preferred the spinach to be a little more dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This dish turned out to be surprisingly tasty, especially when I added more salt, pepper, and more garlic than the recipe called for. I used less olive oil than the recipe suggested and the dish still turned out very well--I believe I used about 1/3 cup, total. I'd also recommend using a cup of rice, rather than half a cup...when I put in half a cup initially, it was totally overwhelmed by the spinach. Garnishing this dish with lemon juice and feta cheese makes it INCREDIBLE. I loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I love this recipe, even my picky eaters love this recipe! I usually use a 28 oz bag of frozen spinach and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, and it comes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and did not use a whole cup of olive oil; just enough to saute the onions (about 2 TBS). I didn't have tomato paste on hand so I just omitted it. It turned out fabulous! My husband couldn't get enough and I thought it was a great way to make something different with spinach. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made this recipe to a "T" and it was good, but, not outstanding. It was just sort of missing something. Thanks, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Very good, everyone loved it. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and cut back on the oil. I also added a sprinkling of parm and feta cheese. Also had to use canned spinach. Goes well as a snack w/ pita bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCAS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Thankfully I read the previous reviews and reduced the amount of oil used to 1/4 cup. Also added some dried parsley and chilli flakes to the boiling water before stirring in the rice. Served it with Souvlaki and Tzatziki (recipe for both were also obtained on this website). Dinner was an absolute delight for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States