Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am a bit torn over whether to rate this a four or five... I just mad this tonight for dinner and it was well accepted by my children. My husband and I also enjoyed it, however I felt that there was something missing. For the life of me I cannot put my finger on it. Still, it was easy to prepare, and on a winter day like today, it was warm, filling comfort food. We did sprinkle a bit of cheese on top. After all, everything is better with a bit of cheese! Thanks for sharing this recipie. We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjoedo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
mrsjoedo mentioned something was missing, next time try adding chopped green pepper. To me it's not goulash unless you add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Being from Minnesota, I understood the term "goulash" as meaning "hot dish" as the two terms are more or less interchangable in this state! I realize there is a Hungarian goulash which is completely different, but this is a regional term that I understood to be exactly what it is! Kudos! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is the classic goulash made in the mid-west, USA, not Hungarian Goulash. I grew up on this in Iowa, but we used Worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce, no bay leaf, and a green pepper if we had one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
594 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is not "classic" Hungarian Goulash but it is goulash or Chop Suey depending on what part of the country you grew up. For me it was western NY and we added canned corn. Made this tonight, exactly as written, for my very picky folks and we loved it; it was a taste of my childhood. Next time I'll add Jalapeno and bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
644 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My husband really liked this dish. I went for the slow cooker option and let it simmer for longer than the recipe called for. It was delicious and easy-it did not matter that it's not "classic" Hungarian goulash to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is very good! I made it just as posted with the exception of using 1.5 tsp of salt and 1.5 tsp of garlic & herb seasoning since I did not have seasoned salt. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becwill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Excellent! I hadn't had goulash in years and decided to try this. I made it exactly as recipe stated and it was wonderful. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macedon, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
this is a good midwestern style goulash. Not Hungarlan style this is more of a hamburger helper tomato macaroni dish. My husband really liked this for lunch. I cut this down to 2 servings. I did add a little more macaroni though as the bag was nearly empty anyway so I added another 1/3 c of elbow mac. I used a store brand Italian seasoned diced tomatoes, Del Fuerte mexican tomato sauce, and half the onion called for. I thought the soy sauce was going to taste odd, but I couldn't even tell it was there. This was a nice easy dish to put together, used things I normally have on hand, and my husband really liked this a lot so it's a winner! Thanks for sharing, I'll fix it again. Soo much better than Hamburger Helper and just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was very tasty...interesting how different backgrounds and cultures have different versions of goulash...my mother was from the Rhine in Germany and her goulash was definitely not this...this was called sloppy joe in our house (with the addition of green peppers and we use half ground beef and half ground pork and about 1/2 pound of chopped bacon). We also don't cook the noodles in with the meat...it is put over noodles like a pasta sauce. Definitely a favourite. Although we used Maggi instead of soy sauce. Maggi is a staple in our german household for most meat recipes - grilled, baked, fried or roasted. Thank you, I enjoyed trying your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States