Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Made this tonight and it was good. Our main complaint was that it was a bit bland. I do plan to make this dish again, however I will be seasoning the meat more. I did cook the pasta and then added it for the last 25 mins. (I did this because of several reviews that suggested it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
It amuses me when people do this and here I am doing this: I made changes to this recipe. One could argue that what I actually did was create my own recipe and instead of reviewing this one I should be creating my own entry, and my reply to that would be that my recipe would be too much like this one so it doesn't warrant it's own submission. So, there. . My changes: Substituted soy sauce with Worcestershire Sauce. Substituted water with beef broth. Cooked pasta in a separate pot and added it to the sauce when done (I know from experience that when you cook the pasta in with the sauce, it tends to become mushy. I'm an "al-dente" kinda woman). . This dish was fantastic. SO asked, "Why don't you make this every week?" Heck, I'm not sure why. It's an economical, filling meal. If tweaked properly (with low-sodium sauces, lean meat and whole-wheat pasta), this meal could be considered healthful. Maybe I WILL make it every week! Funny thing is, my mother made this several times a year when I was growing up (we simply called it "goulash" in Upstate NY) and I hated it. Funny how our taste buds mature with our bodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I have made this for my husband twice and he loves it. I have halved the recipe and did not use the bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Houle-Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was very good... Everyone in my family enjoyed it. Next time I am going to make it with half ground sausage and half ground beef. Thanks for an "easy to make on a busy day" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Very good goulash recipe! Followed recipe as written other than halving it since there are only two of us and only cooking for 10 minutes after the macaroni was added. When reading recipe ingredients before trying it, was a little bit skeptical on ingredients, but again it turned out great! We both loved it! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I see a few comments saying it was to soupey, I added a half cup more noodles.. I fixed that problem. oh I also replaced the chopped onions with the minced onion spice.. due to most of my family not liking onions turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Truly this is a 1-1/2 star recipe. I made it for my husband and my twin teenage sons. My husband and one son found it completely inedible. The other son tolerated it and said it was 'ok'. I would never make it again and don't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Well I wasn't sure about the soy sauce, so I left it out. One of two cups pasta I changed to whole grain, and I used basil & oregano seasoned tomatoes and sauce. I added: Bell pepper, 1 tbls Emeril's Essence, 1 or 2 tbls Tony Chachares Original, depending on your spice threshold, Sprinkle some favorite steak seasoning, Sprinkle of black pepper, 1 to 2 tbls sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
The Recipe is Great but instead of using 3 cups of Water I used Tomato Juice. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This recipe is very easy and requires little prep! Not expensive to make either. It yields a lot so invite the neighbors! Overall, we liked it. We served it with a side salad and it worked well together. I added a few ingredients and should have ignored one ingredient!! I added 1 teaspoon finely chopped jalapeño pepper and 1 chopped bell pepper. I REALLY recommend omitting the bay leaves. They are extremely concentrated and are overbearing. I didn't like the strong taste. IF you do, Reduce the # of bay leaves from 3 down to 1. I firmly believe it would make this recipe a lot better. Next time we make this goulash recipe we will make it the same as we did today and leave off the bay leaves so it'll be better. Good luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States