Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Liked it alot, but didn't use bay leaf or added water. I did add a chopped green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Steffen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I halved all ingredients in this recipe except elbow macaroni & water - kept that at 2 cups each. Consistency was perfect, which I was worried would be too watery. Didn't have bay leaves on hand so I didn't add them, but did throw in one green pepper & used Worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. Also added half a can of tomato sauce for flavor. Put it in crock pot for about 1 1/2 hours. My family loved this variation of goulash & I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for the great recipe, @pathunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Park, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
I made a vegetarian and meat eaters version of this. Both I eyeballed the ingredients and it turned out good for both. I did however add bell pepper and mushrooms to both. The vegatarian one I also added lentils and summer squash to round out the fact I took out the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
It was good the day I made it, but the next day the noodles were mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
My grandma used to make something just like this and like this, it was delicious. I cooked the ground beef with some cumin to give it a little extra and it was just what it needed. Everyone in the family loved it, and it was a nice change from the usual spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I cut this recipe in half, used worchesshire instead of soy sauce, and added a diced bell pepper. Came out excellent with plenty left over for lunch tomorrow at work !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Family liked this dish. I followed the recipe pretty close other than a few minor changes for taste. 1 can petite diced tomatoes, 1 can Italian seasoned tomatoes, 1 Tbs Ital seasoning, 2 Tbs Soy, and 2 Bay leaves. Probably could punch up the flavor a bit more next time. Crushed tomatoes worked in place of the tomato sauce for me since that is all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
It was great. The kids loved it. I didn't have seasoned salt, so I used Cajun spice as a substitute, but it tasted fine. I might spice it up next time with a bell pepper and some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
As another reviewer stated, this is very similar to a Paula Deen recipe and that is why I decided to make it. I made this according to the directions and found that it did not have very much flavor (which I found funny since most of Paula Deen's recipes are very flavorful). When I reheated this for a second meal, I added chili powder (to taste) and added some Brooks ketchup since it is pretty spicy. Either one of the two or both added much needed flavor and seasoning and I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States