Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
these came out so good, i made a train from mine, and unfortunately, the caboose was eaten by my mom's husband, adn my kids before i even got to assemble it. Guess that means they like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this recipe for ginger houses and cut outs. So easy to work with, no chilling, yet still yummy and not too hard! ( hint: roll cut outs a little thicker to maintain a soft inside) This is my new go to recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
A great simple base recipe. I tripled the spices, doubled the salt, and used 1/2 c molasses and 2 tbsp water instead of 2/3 cup called for. It was perfect, good flavor and not over the top sweet if you are frosting these. Also used 2 pieces of parchment paper to roll out so I didn't have to add flour to the dough. I rolled mine thin and only baked 6 min. Mmmm, soft and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clegg_connie@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This made great gingerbread houses!!! I made them for my annual Auntie Claus weekend and the kids had a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
this recipe is really easy to follow so that's what makes it great. i found that rolling the dough thicker made the cookies chewy and not that crunchy. one thing i don't like about this is that the amount of spices used is definitely not enough. the cookies smell great but the taste is rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Like several of the other reviewers, I rolled the dough out a bit thicker (about 1/4") and the cookies came out beautifully! Like one of the other reviewers, I also added more of the clove, cinnamon, ginger and some nutmeg...really spicy and flavourful. It was an absolutely foolproof recipe and the cookies came out perfectly. I've always been too terrified to try making gingerbread, but after finding this recipe, I think it will become a tradition. NB I couldn't find any molasses in the UK, so I used golden syrup and it was absolutely fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This dough was easy to work with and the cookies came out chewy but sturdy. Love the flavor, too, though they do need icing to be sweet enough for my taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great recipe....I am glad I made this dough to make my gingerbread cookies...it rolled out so easy and to cut out the men,trees,santa and Christmas bells it was perfect....no need to add or take something out...just make as is and u will be so happy..Thanx so much for the great recipe...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chaplin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Had to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for (about 1/4 cup) And the flavor left much to be desired. However, it rolled wonderfully, baked perfectly and was study beyond belief. So, all in all if you're looking for a good recipe to use for gingerbread house making this is a good one, but maybe add some more spices (like some of the other reviewers suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States