Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This was a great recipe, but I have some tips for others wanting to make the recipe. The taste, I thought, was great but you could add more spices if you want to. (Just look at other gingerbread recipes to find out an average) Also, some people were complaining about the crunchiness of the cookies. I noticed that too, but then I stopped rolling the dough so thin and they came out nice, gingery and somewhat soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NorrisM
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I made these cookies for Christmas this year. I found that rolling the dough 1/4" instead of 1/8" made the cookies softer and more fun to decorate. My daughter decorated the cookies, putting two together with an "I Love Mom & Dad" theme (as seen in the photo). I am not the best baker, an have minimal experience with rolling dough, but I learned three things from making this batch of cookies. 1. Put more than a thin layer of flour on the board before rolling the dough. My first attempt had the dough sticking to the board because I used a light dusting of flour. 2. Brush off the flour from the bottom of the cookies before eating them. They taste MUCH better that way. 3. I used the Reynolds Parchment Paper on the cookie sheet for the first time. I really like the results that I had. The cookies didn't stick to the sheet and it didn't allow over cooking the bottom of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wilco
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This made a beautiful gingerbread house! I used the template on this website and did the recipe exactly as it says to here. It made a gingerbread house and quite a few large gingerbread people. This was so easy and looks pretty. :) A note though: the frosting recipe is a good one, but it must be used fresh. If you're making your house over several days time, then just make enough of the frosting for that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I added more spice. 2 1/2 tsp ginger, 2 tsp cloves, 2 tsp cinnamon and i also added nutmeg for that extra kick. They are awesome. Soft and delicious. I will definatly be using this recipe for my gingerbread house. Oh and just so u know, use Fancy Molasses for gingerbread. I didn't know that there are 5 types of molasses. I used cooking molasses for my first recipe and they turned out really dark and tasted too licorishy. Although cooking molasses is a mixture of fancy and blackstrap its way to strong for gingerbread, but great for ginger snaps. Hope this helps. I used the royal icing recipe , it turned out great. Ofcourse i added color to some and made them extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
i had to add about a half cup more flour to the dough in order for it to be workable for the cutouts, and the surface needed to be heavily floured. but once i figured that out, the cut outs came out well and they cooked in about 6 minutes (contrary to the 8-10 minutes in the direcions). the icing was so easy - i did a few colors, put them in small zip bags, and cut the very tips off the bags and voila! it was a big hit with (and great activity for) my party goers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These cookies were so easy to make. I laughed when I saw it only took an hour to make them but I was cleaned up and finished an hour after I started them. They were easy to mix and the easiest cookies I have ever rolled and cut. My three year old helped me and we didn't even have any fall apart. I only gave 4 stars though because as far as flavor they are not spectacular. I am thinking some orange zest and more spice would jazz them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Well, I didn't have molasses, allspice OR cloves! But I used this recipe anyway. I used maple syrup instead of the molasses, doubled the cinnamon and crossed my fingers. They turned out really great! Of course, they're not really gingerbread cookies, but they were nice and crunchy and easy for the kids to decorate. I'm sure with the correct ingredients they are wonderful. The dough was just perfect and got easier to work with as I handled it. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Best gingerbread Ive ever made! It wasnt too dry or hard, and it made perfect little men for decorating. I did add about half a tsp more ginger powder, but everything else was perrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
This gingerbread is soft and delicious. The whole family loved them and my littlier ones had a great time making them with me. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These cookies taste delicious! They're not too sweet and the icing is the perfect touch. I added about 10 drops of food coloring to the royal icing to make different color variations. Then, placed the different colors into plastic baggies. Pushed the icing into one of the corners of the bag and snipped a VERY small hole. This created a cheap piping bag to paint my cookies. They turned out great. My daughter enjoyed helping decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States