Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Great Dough but a bit boring of a cookie. Do Not make more than a single batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
These cookies were great for cutouts but there wasn't much taste to them. I added a lot more of each spice in my second batch and they tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I want to thank you for this recipe, it was the perfect gingerbread cookies, easiest dough I've ever seen to handle, this one made my day and my kids day a lot of fun we decorated them and they were delicious. thanks again a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Well, I didn't have molasses, allspice OR cloves! But I used this recipe anyway. I used maple syrup instead of the molasses, doubled the cinnamon and crossed my fingers. They turned out really great! Of course, they're not really gingerbread cookies, but they were nice and crunchy and easy for the kids to decorate. I'm sure with the correct ingredients they are wonderful. The dough was just perfect and got easier to work with as I handled it. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
i had to add about a half cup more flour to the dough in order for it to be workable for the cutouts, and the surface needed to be heavily floured. but once i figured that out, the cut outs came out well and they cooked in about 6 minutes (contrary to the 8-10 minutes in the direcions). the icing was so easy - i did a few colors, put them in small zip bags, and cut the very tips off the bags and voila! it was a big hit with (and great activity for) my party goers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
My 13 year old son made them without any help. It's great to have a cut out recipe that didn't require chilling. The dough was easy to work with and the flavor was great (we were pretty generous with the spices!) We did not make the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This recipe was a little disappointing in the taste category. The dough was easy to work with, the cookies puffed up perfectly and held their shape well, but the cookies did taste like cardboard! Kids had a cookie party and we used this recipe and some store bought dough- this one made better looking cookies, but they definitely need quite a bit more spice in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I made these today and they came out great! The dough, once mixed, is very easy to work with. NOTE: To those of you who didn't like the icing: it pretty much is "Royal Icing" i.e. it will dry HARD (great for packing). I always add a few drops of pure vanilla extract or vanilla/butter/nut flavoring because I don't like the way it tastes by itself. If you don't want a crispy cookie, then don't roll too thin- these cookies are supposed to be a little "dry".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA
Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I didn't make the recommended icing. The cookies came out a bit dry and didn't have a strong ginger flavor like I would have liked - perhaps the next time I might add more spices than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
The dough is really easy to work with, perfect for cutouts. I have not made the suggested icing, but the cookies work very well with Royal Icing. The small amount of spices make this a very kid-friendly cookie, although more adult tastes prefer it spicier. Nonetheless, these cookies disappear FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States