Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
my first time making gingerbread cutouts and I was not disapointed with this recipe. The main reason I chose it was because the dough did not require refridgeration. Came together easy, rolled beautifully. I kept a careful eye not to over cook the boys...absolutely key in producing soft cookies. Made icing with icing sugar, milk and vanilla mixed to the right consistency. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I added more spice. 2 1/2 tsp ginger, 2 tsp cloves, 2 tsp cinnamon and i also added nutmeg for that extra kick. They are awesome. Soft and delicious. I will definatly be using this recipe for my gingerbread house. Oh and just so u know, use Fancy Molasses for gingerbread. I didn't know that there are 5 types of molasses. I used cooking molasses for my first recipe and they turned out really dark and tasted too licorishy. Although cooking molasses is a mixture of fancy and blackstrap its way to strong for gingerbread, but great for ginger snaps. Hope this helps. I used the royal icing recipe , it turned out great. Ofcourse i added color to some and made them extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
not really the best recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
These were good, moderately soft, gingerbread cookies that went over very well with our family, young and old. I rolled them a little thicker, as I like a softer cookie. I would probably use powdered sugar for the rolling next time, to make a slightly sweeter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
First I would like to say that I really do not bake, that is more for my mom as I prefer cooking. This is the first time I have ever made gingerbread cookies and I searched everywhere to find a recipe that I assumed would be good. I chose this one, but followed the advice of many others on here by making small changes to suit my own taste. I cut the molasses down to 1/3 cup and used 1 tsp of the spices and added 1 tsp of nutmeg. I have never made icing in my life before and was a bit worried that I would do something wrong, but it turned out perfect. I let the dough stay in the fridge overnight as I did not have time to actually make, decoarte and clean once the dough was made, and it was so easy to work with. I cooked the cookies for the full 8 min(I used small cookie cutters too), and the cookies came out perfect. I was worried about the cookies after making the dough because the molasses gave off a pungent smell that was distastefull to me. My dad said they were great and the only dessert/treat he likes are chocolate chip cookies. They are soft too which is a plus but they are not 'cakey'. Overall it was an A+ in mine and my familys book and we will definantly be making again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This one didn't go so well for me. The dough was not easy to handle and even though I increased the amount of spices by a considerable amount they still weren't that gingery. The overall texture after cooking was good though but we wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made a gingerbread house with a metal mold. This recipe's dough was rather sticky and prone to air bubbles. Not great properties for a molded cookie, but in the end it worked out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
It tasted really good but I ended up baking it for only 6 minutes. The dough made lots of gingerbread men. I didn't have cloves but they still tasted really ginger-bready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Unfortunately, I had no luck with this recipe. It smells like gingerbread but doesn't taste like gingerbread at all! I suppose the amounts of spices need some adjustment. However, I do enjoy the rather cakey texture of the gingerbread cookies, but not the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These made a soft, chewy gingerbread cookie, it balances out the hard royal icing used to decorate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmwth4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States