Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely love this recipe. It is a must have each holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is ... a bad recipe to say the very least. Too much flour .. I couldn't even get the thing to roll out and get one cookie ...sad ... *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
3 stars for flavor because it is fairly bland for gingerbread. 5 stars for simplicity - it was great to not have to chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Good recipe, rolled out well and didn't stick. I doubled the spices as was suggested. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this a few Christmases now and each time I have to hide the cookies when they're done or else I won't get any. This comes off a soft, cake like cookie, especially if you roll it thick enough. I highly recommend using the parchment trick (rolling out your dough between two pieces of parchment). I found that if I did that, I could easily get the dough cut, put on a cookie sheet, baked, and transferred off without any issues. The only problem I have had is around Christmas time I get never ending questions from my wife, friends, and co-workers about when gingerbread time starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe! I actually needed a bit more flour, but the consistency of the dough was beautiful. I used the template on the site for the house, and prematurely did a few cut outs and was left using scraps for the roof. But I was able to make it work. Over all, its easy and very tasty! Even for non-molasses likers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I picked this recipe because it looked fairly simple, and it called for butter instead of shortening. Overall, not bad at all. I would, however, recommend at least doubling the spices. I doubled them, but next time I make gingerbread cookies, I will probably add a bit more. I also recommend letting the dough 'rest' in the refrigerator for a bit before rolling out to cookies. Baked up nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really enjoyed this gingerbread....did not have any difficulty rolling it out, did not stick to the rolling pin or the table. Made very nice gingerbread men :) I added a little more cinnamon/ginger and did not have allspice so I used a 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to round out the ginger/cinnamon/cloves. All in all a very nice gingerbread. I will probably use it next year for a whole gingerbread house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very yummy! The dough is really great, it's just like playdough, so easy to use! I made a gingerbread house with this, and still be making regular cookies too (lots of dough left!). I found they're better rolled to about 1/4 inch thick rather than 1/8, that way they turn out soft. These things smell SOOOO good! I didn't have allspice or cloves unfortunately, but even without it they taste grand, I'm sure they'd be even better with all the spices! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fabulous recipe! I used this to create my first homemade gingerbread house (usually just make one from a box!). I was absolutely amazed at how soft and supple the dough was (so easy to roll out it's ridiculous). Worked out great and the smell is divine. Great recipe! If I ever make another one of these, this is the recipe I'll use. I also love the rich, dark color of this gingerbread. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States