Classic Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Nearly identical to Kikkoman's "Classic Fried Rice," also from this site. For the most part I followed the recipe as written (there are infinite variations you could try) except for cooking the egg separately, like a crepe, then rolling it up like a cigar and slicing it, chiffonade-style, for a more authentic presentation. Just as it is used in "Classic Fried Rice," this could benefit from the addition of some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was a real hit, but I made changes: Added a few more bacon strips and another egg;didn't have the green onions, so substituted with a regular onion and 1/2 green pepper; added chopped fresh mushrooms, and sprinkled with some Adobo seasoning at the end. This was heavy on the grease, so after cooking each item (bacon, eggs, veggies) I drained the grease on paper towels. This got raves, and fed a lot of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
very tasty, family really enjoyed it. Love all the garlic, might add more (we like a lot of garlic). You can do a lot with this recipe (adding chicken, pork, vegetables) great way to use up left over rice.. My Husband went back for seconds and said make this again, (rarely ever said)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Abilene, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Better than most take-out places! I never thought I could make fried rice at home! This is seriously good! This is good for a side dish OR add chicken/shrimp/steak and you've got a meal! Thanks! I think this is my FAVORITE recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Delicious, fast, and easy. Possibilities are endless with what you can add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
GREAT! I had been wasting 99cents a pack for "fried rice" seasoning only to figure out it's dehydrated soy sauce! duh! wow.... We love fried rice and this was the BEST ever one i've ever made! The bacon made it "special"!! I cooked the bacon, then cooked the chicken in the bacon grease then cooked the eggs in the remaining bacon grease. YUM! i made a ton of it and just added seasoning (soy sauce) to taste. it's so much easier than i ever realized! will make this recipe forever more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was a flavorful side dish! In my opinion bacon adds nice flavor and compliments any dish well. Not only did the bacon smell awesome cooking up but this dish tasted great! I just tossed in a couple of garlic cloves, chopped, cold cooked rice, added the cooked bacon, green onions and seasoned the rice with a little soy sauce, Hawaiian sea salt and black pepper. Lastly, I added in some cooked eggs that I made into an omelet and sliced thinly. This made a pretty side dish, was easy to prepare and delicious! Thou there is ample room where you can add other veggies and ingredients this was great as is. I served this with, “Grilled Asian Chicken,” and “Easy Bok Choy,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
We liked this, but thought it could use another egg & a bit more soy sauce. Still great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this (with no changes) for my family and they absolutely loved it. The bacon adds so much flavor especially if you don't drain the bacon fat. Next time, I think I'm going to try to add fresh mushrooms (sliced) to add more freshness and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurlock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Didn't love it, but still ate it. I've never had fried rice with bacon before... it just seemed not right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States